We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chinatown Express

Chinatown Express
Ranked #341 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value very good service lots of Chinese eat there so a good sign - yes very basic cafe like but cost & taste out weight that - we would definitely go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzi4boro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Its a take away utilising the floor space with a cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went after looking on trip advisor went along as just wanted some tea before going to see Mr Izzard, as other reviewers its not a restaurant its a café hence basic tables and chairs. The staff are quick and efficient, the food is average at a good price. We had 2 colas, mixed starter, lemon chicken, fried rice and house noodles, came to just over £24. The menu is extensive however its layout made me flick through and just end up going to the section that's laid out like a normal take away menu and ordering off there. Not bad and would probably go back when in the area if looking for somewhere quick and reasonable for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychickens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything we hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

"I fancy a Chinese", said I this afternoon, and after a brief look at Tripadvisor, we ended up at this restaurant. I couldn't have been happier that we did. Authentic menu and very friendly staff. We had three dishes, came away stuffed silly and with a doggy bag, £30 down. All quite different and delicious flavours. Szechuan chilli beef (fabulous, but don't get if you don't like hot stuff - loads of tiny bullet chillies); salt fish pork and aubergine vermicelli - wouldn't have known about the salt fish, but v tasty with aubergine done to unctuous perfection; and last and possibly best, stuffed bean curd green pepper with black bean sauce: not your everyday Chinese restaurant black bean sauce but subtly flavoured and poured over almost-crispy-fried tofu and... chicken (not announced on the menu, beware veggies!), wrapped in tasty large pieces of green pepper.

I'm so glad we discovered this place - just great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place for per football meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time vist on Sunday 7th April .The waiting time was 5mins the special menu was very good and the food was pipping hot and very good .will call again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For the price can't fault the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We found this place on tripadvisor after fancying a Chinese. As like other reviewers the decor is nothing to write home about but the food and service more than makes up for that. We arrived in time for the happy hour menu and at that price we had 3 meals between the 2 of us.
We started with chicken and sweet corn soup so tasty!!
Crispy wontons again really tasty could do with bit more filling but tasty all the same.
Spare ribs as like other reviewers soooo yummy and we are not massive spare ribs fans.
Of mains we choose chicken curry, chicken and chilli with black bean sauce and chicken chow mien all really tasty and good size portions and for the price you can not complain.
Would we return yes!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WCGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Express also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Chinatown Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing