We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didnt enjoy”
Review of Massala

Massala
Ranked #847 of 1,403 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 11, 2016

ate here one night when it had not long been open, was told about by a friend, did not enjoy food was poor. wouldn't eat from here again unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ljzhk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Ended up here around 9pm on a Saturday night. The food was great, really good curry. Very friendly staff and good service. The place was lacking atmosphere a little, very bright lit and people popping in for takeaway. I would still go again and happy to recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cornishbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2015

Drove past this restaurant and decided to try it as its Pubjab food. We ordered three different meals and none of us were disappointed, it was cooked beautifully and the tastes of the spices were really good. The naan breads were nice too as well as the rice dishes. Will definitely be going back for a second visit.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flysun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015

As mentioned in other reviews, my partner and I love Indian food and would like to consider ourselves experts on the subject!
Massala is a new takeaway / restaurant, which has about four or five booth style tables available to eat in if you choose to do so.... which we have done now on two occasions.
As well as serving the usual dishes, as their menu states - they are willing to alter/ specially cook dishes according to customers' preferences.
We had poppadoms and dips to start, chicken tikka rogan (the chicken tikka was absolutely amazing) and chicken balti with extra garlic. Everything was cooked fresh, extremely tasty, lots of spices and the bill was very reasonable too.
We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Newcastle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massala also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing