We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weeding anniversary ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21

21
Reserve with OpenTable
21 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $69
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Manors
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weeding anniversary ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good food ,really nice decor in the restaurant ,food is very tasty .
The only downside was the services was really quick before you new it your next course was out .

Would highly recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank Beachlover27DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    349
    120
    47
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Some friends took us to dinner for an anniversary celebration. They are regulars here, or were, whilst we had given up on the restaurant some time ago. The menu (which hadn't really changed much since the last time we were there a year ago!) was uninspiring - I think the chef is caught in a time machine set to 1990!!.........and a couple of us struggled to find anything to our taste. Wine list was also somewhat limited - and seems to have gone downmarket since our last visit. Food arrived - in a somewhat staggered way - but was all presented OK. Taste was very average - but I do struggle with the pricing for the quality of food on offer. Service was terrible - customer to staff ratio was appalling on the night we were there. Mind you the tables were crammed so closely together I am surprised there's any room for staff......methinks the owners are getting a little too greedy? So in summary a below average meal, slow service and we needed to shout to be heard at our table....I know it does not bill itself as fine dining - but the prices aren't far off it - and the whole bistro thing is going a bit too far ! I think its resting on its laurels and dependent upon the "regulars" - albeit many of the ones I have spoke to aren't as "regular" as they once were - and for good reason!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HexhamHettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family from New Zealand loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just left after lunch and perfect service from the moment we walked in from the French gentleman food perfect and tasty oysters so fresh and polish waitress was so so nice all staff were fantastic a real credit !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bfp3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Fabulous food, fabulous service, just fabulous! Loved it and will be returning! Doesn't need much else saying!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still got it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent last night debating which of the 21 group to visit for a meal and eventually settled on 21 over the broad chard as it felt like some time since my last visit in november last year. I'm never dissapointed with this choice and it's as if Cafe 21 never misses a beat.

Had some excellent food including starters of steak tartar, which is as good as you will get anywhere, and a really nice asparagus and Morel mushroom dish. There is a few simple but inciting sounding asparagus dishes on the menu right now so there obviously making the best of the seasonal produce! Mains where Calves liver served simply with mash and crispy onions but expertly delivered and a really comforting dish. My friend had the venison which was really good and was quite interesting with roasted beetroots and bits of gnocchi, a very good effort.
Were 21 blows other restaurants out of the water is desserts, I had a raspberry soufflé with rose water ice cream which was just unreal. Every time I visit here I'm in awe at how good the desserts are because usually I don't opt for a dessert in restaurants but these guys have got it down!

Service is always prompt and professional and the venue is immaculately clean. The food steals the show though and for me it's the safest bet of any restaurant in Newcastle. Although it leaves a dent in your wallet the quality speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat_Defeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing