We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Mamma Mia - CLOSED

Mamma Mia
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional Italian restaurant with a cosy and relaxed atmosphere.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been going to this place since i was 13 im now 28 and i still love going.

Food is great atmosphere is great

I will be a customer for many years to come

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 28, you look very young to us. Thank you for the review and keep on coming back to us. We really appreciate your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    80
    36
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

went to Mamma Mias last night, hadn't been for a while but as its a favourite of ours we were looking forward to going back - what a disappointment. The food was so bland. We shared a seafood pasta and a bolognese pizza. The pasta had no flavour and I could count the amount of seafood on one hand. As for the pizza, well, the topping covered about 2 3rds of the pizza and again no flavour. Maybe we should have said something on the night but the place was very busy didn't think it would have made any difference. Needless to say we won't be going back which is a shame as we've going there for years.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your food. It doesn't matter how busy we are, you views count. I wish you had said sometime on the night, I will simply not stand for sub-standard food. If you weren't happy we could have done something there and then. I am sorry you wont be back, because I would have liked the opportunity to change your mind. This is the one thing I need, feedback at the time. We will always start again. If a customer doesn't like their food or wants it a different way, we will change it without any fuss. Please note for visits to other restaurants, if you are not happy please say at the time. No restaurant wants to get written feedback, when verbal feedback is to quick and easy to remedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfort food, good service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We managed to get a table on a Saturday night without a booking, so were not sure what we would get. Lovely, homely food with generous portions and A relaxed atmosphere. The ham in the carbonara was just wonderful. Th beef in the stew just melted in the mouth. The decor is dodgy but the food more than made up for it.

Helpful?
Thank nettlebed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good little place”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

food is fine and service ok but not so good with a bigger group on day we were there, have been many times in groups of 4 and they were great with smaller orders

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank syl188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as it was :-(”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This used to be my favourite place to eat in Newcastle for many years. It has been over a year since I was last here and the service and food is not as good as it used to be.

I have never seen the place so empty in the 12 years I have been coming

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisonmurrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing