We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose a Speciality”
Review of Cafe Bangla - CLOSED

Cafe Bangla
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Indian takeaway collections and home delivery service
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Choose a Speciality”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've ordered from here several times and what I've learnt is to order from the Speciality or Adventurous menu - the Mashur is my particular favourite, a bit spicy and extremely tasty. I've ordered from the Favourites menu and these have never been as good - seems that much less care is taken with the spicing and flavouring. Can't comment on the restaurant as I live near and always pick up my order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leamlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    7
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cold curry”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed the food without any cause for complaint. However I ordered a takeaway meal a couple of weeks ago and was told I would have a 30-40 minute wait. After over an hour it was delivered to my home and I duly paid the driver £27. On opening the cartons I found all the food was totally cold. It was too late for me to do anything about it that evening but I e-mailed the manager a couple of days later to complain about the the food being late and cold. His reply was basically sorry but we will do better next time! NEXT TIME? I really don`t think so. I will now be going elsewhere in future as this is just not good enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Billijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“booked table for thurs 1st nov to be greeted with a photoshoot?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

this review is about service not food

i booked a table for me and my partner for Thursday at half past 6 after reading good reviews and hearing only good things about this restaurant. We turned up just before half 6 to find the restaurant not only empty, apart from one couple, but very brightly lit (looking from outside).As we entered the restaurant we were shown to our table with menus and asked if we would like some drinks. we ordered drinks then realised that the couple in the restaurant were not guests they were ACTORS!!. the restaurant was brightly lit due to some sort or indoor floodlight on the bar and a number of cameramen/ photographers talking to the 'couple' about which way they needed to pose etc. after a quick discussion with my partner we decided that we would leave as we felt uncomfortable being such a small restaurant and the only other people in it at that time.

my partner shouted over the waiter to explain that we would not like to stay due to the photo-shoot going on, the waiter could not speak even pigeon English and proceeded to get us two wine menu's????

after explaining again he got another waiter to come over to us, and he couldn't understand why we didn't want to be there? i said to them on leaving the restaurant that they should inform people when they ring up to book about photo shoots etc.

i don't think this was good service at all

now i'm not commenting on the food as we did not stay log enough to try it and probably will go back and try the food some time in the future but the service was appalling this time round.

we left and went to Lasun in shields instead also for the first time, i would highly recommend it!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xXxDawniexXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thrown out in the cold!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited cafe Bangla In October. We booked a table for 10.00pm on a Saturday night.
Food was quite good and contemporary but very dry. To be honest none of us knew what to order a the meals were unlike traditional curry that we are used to.
Staff were very unhelpful with this and just wanted our order and get on with it.

After we finished eating still had drinks to finish, staff were constantly eyeballing us (we weren't the only ones in the restaurant).

Some staff constantly watching us other 2 sat down at next table next to us and started playing on their phones.

After about 20 mins, around 11.15, we were asked to finish drinks off.

They knew we were waiting for a taxi to show but they showed us and another couple the door. (we were 2 middle aged couples) It was freezing outside and when the taxi arrived the staff were still in the restaurant.

Have never been treated so badly in any restaurant and will never return to cafe Bangla. This restaurant would never survive in south shields our standards are much higher!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastboldon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ITS back,MUCH improved service!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ive eaten here after a layoff from visiting in the restaurant , the service is much improved the Chef/owner produces the best indian food i've ever had ! Its great to have a restaurant like this on my doorstep and I intend to get in more often because if you do use them you loose them and I cant be bothered to go into town for an inferior restaurant.

PS keep up the good service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bangla also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing