We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Landmark

Landmark
Ranked #156 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great choice and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I’d booked a table for 6 people for 7pm on a Saturday night not taking into account Newcastle were playing at home that day. When we arrived the bar area was full of loud (but well behaved men) enjoying a post match drink. We managed to negotiate our way to the bar and after ordering drinks we were escorted to out table which thankfully was located on the lower level and shielded from the noise coming from upstairs. The staff member (he may have been a manager) who showed us to our table was full of cheeky banter and the staff in general were friendly and efficient. We decided to go for one of the banquet options and chose the Pagoda banquet. After a short wait a huge bowl of tasty sweetcorn and chicken soup was brought out with more than enough soup for the 6 of us and a basket of prawn crackers. This was followed by crispy duck pancakes, of which we didn’t leave a crumb remaining. The 6 main dishes were accompanied with a bowl of special fried rice. My favourites out of the mains were the crispy beef and the king prawns in a spicy Thai style sweet chilli sauce. For a large party like ours the banquet was perfect as we could pick and chose what we wanted although there was nearly a fight over the last king prawn. Our special fried rice and the prawn crackers were refilled upon request and waiters kept us topped up with drinks throughout the meal. If you want to eat at a more sedate pace you might want to stick to the a la carte menu as the waiters don’t give you much time between courses but you can’t fault their attentiveness. Landmark is a great choice for a high quality Chinese banquet in a perfect central Newcastle location and we’ll definitely be back again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    93
    27
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

On entering the restaurant it was full and more like a busy bar - maybe as there had been a match on in Newcastle. However we were led to our table in a much quieter area - apart from one quite rowdy family; a large group who allowed their kids to run about loudly among other diners. The staff did nothing about it - probably because they were mounting up a large bill!

It was only 7.30pm and there seemed to be a lot of well served customers around.. Some may see it as a good atmosphere I guess!

A really gorgeous place but I was surprised that there were TVs on the walls. They had the football on which was a bit odd when trying to dine on a Saturday evening - not my scene anyway.

Important: We ordered the pagoda buffet and the food was spot on, hence me awarding 4 stars.

The waiting staff were very nice and we didn't feel hurried out upon paying the bill.

As one reviewer mentioned, the manager was speaking to everyone he knew and I think it would have been a nice gesture to pass by us also.

The ladies room was let down by a light bulb out, there was no hand wash and the drier was absolutely hopeless! Everyone was just using loo roll to dry their hands!! It's the small things which no doubt the manager doesn't check.

Would I go back? Yes, but out of football season!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Always a great occasion! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The landmark is a fantastic place to eat out whatever the occasion. Great food and value for money with the lunchtime menu whilst also serving exceptional dishes on the evenings. Best restaurant on Stowel street!

Helpful?
Thank RTweedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a family night out here last night and yet again couldn't find any fault. The food and service were superb as usual from our warm welcome on arrival to them arranging our taxi home at the end of the evening. Never had a bad evening in here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went here on the strength of good reviews. Just goes to show how some people are easily pleased. We had lettuce parcels as one of our starters, although how you make a parcel from a piece of lettuce only 4" by 2" is beyond me. Its not as if lettuce is expensive! Rest of meal was OK, nothing to write home about. The three tables around us were obviously known to the manager, which would explain why 3 times we heard about his trip to Thailand and his brother in Melbourne. Really?? An acknowledement to other customers would have been nice. In future will make the journey to the Pavillion in Consett, it can't be faulted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deadlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing