We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Landmark

Landmark
Ranked #168 of 1,253 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I tend to dine here at least once a month. It's the best Chinese Restaurant in Newcastle. The owners always welcome you back like family - and their menu is quite substantial. The fillet beef and prawns used in the food seem to be very high quality... and their crispy shredded duck is always a perfect starter. Even the Prawn Crackers are delicious. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    93
    27
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this resteraunt many times and I think it is the best all round Chinese in Newcastle upon tyne

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smbftp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special..but not bad.Poor for what you expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here just because it was the most expensive one and the reviews said that it was worth every single penny.We popped in at 13:45 and a kind waiter sitted us. The restaurant it s quite big and modern, we ordered our food from lunch menu, and other waiter brought our dishes but she was quite rude it seems she was not happy to serve us (maybe because it was about to close in 20 minutes) but that is her job! She even asked us if we need a fork it looks like if you say no, she get angry...
The starters were hot and sour soup , and some spare pork ribs in plum sauce, they were good but just in the average.
Then we got the main dishes, chicken green curry landmark, and mongolian style lamb: they were ok , good ones but to be honest it was nothing special just ok.....
For what we paid (27 pounds for 2 ) we expected much more, it s overpriced, you can spend that money in other ways, but I have not seen many other options in this chinatown.....apart some cheap chinese buffets I think better you look for other kind of food, simply go to other places!
But I want to be honest it s not bad.....it s fine but from a scale 0 to 10 I give it just 6 nothing more!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nuchesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've had Chinese food all over the world and this is definitely one of the best. Outstanding service the guy remembered me from months ago. Food is brilliant, it is on the expensive side but thoroughly worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delicacyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CREDIT CRUNCH HITS LANDMARK!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

In recent years whenever we used to want a good quality value for money Chinese meal Landmark was our no 1 choice.
Visited tonight and what a let down to every previous visit.
Given a small bowl of prawn crackers and when we asked for a top up we were charged £2 PER ADDITIONAL BOWL!
All sectors of the set meal were smaller portions than ever before and we were by this time pretty disappointed.
To cap it all we were charged for drinks we never had and although they were immediately taken off the bill we were annoyed that they had been charged for in the 1st place. They were quick enough to charge us for the prawn crackers!
This restaurant was never the cheapest (£150 for 4 people) but we knew portion size and quality was worth the extra.
After tonight we will not come back to this restaurant as a matter of course. Stowell St has plenty of restaurants - perhaps it is time to venture out and see what else is available.
Are others noticing the same or was it just coincidence that the restaurant was very quiet?
We had pre booked as historically it was always full. Tonight we needn't have!
Come on guys get your act together - don't let the rot set in as good reputations are hard to achieve but easy to lose!

Very disappointed client

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 310charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing