We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kafeneon

Kafeneon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Friendly family run restaurant, with a warm atmosphere and amazing freshly prepared food. Great for any occasion so give it a try!
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went expecting to find a Greek restaurant, but found a menu with a small Greek section. The food that we ordered was good, the service was OK, but as a night out, there was nothing special about this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinope1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    113
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I went here partly because of the positive reviews on tripadvisor. I can see why it gets good reviews. It's an excellent location, cheeful decor, friendly staff and an interesting and keenly priced menu.

We had tzatziki and hummus for starters, which was good, and vegetarian moussaka for main course, which was very disappointing. The moussaka was dry and stodgy and tasteless. Maybe they don't get much demand for vegetarian moussaka and it had been in the freezer too long - I don't know and it's not up to me to make excuses for them.

I don't want to put others off. I think this would be a great place for a coffee and a snack or even a light meal as long as you choose something that's freshly made.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_Optimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very pleased, great evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lovely night out, very pleasant staff, nice surrounds, very nice meal and good, varied choice, no complaints whatsoever, would certainly return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bacillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Been eating at Cafe Neon for about 5 years now , never had a bad meal.
Its a great place to go for a meet with the girls. I have have had most things of the menu and
have never had a bad meal. The coffee is the hottest I have ever had in a cafe, not lukewarm
which is generally served in most places in town.
I can recommend Cafe Neon as one of the best!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, clean and frindly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is a small cosy place. Ideal for couples that want to try something different. It doesnt have an endless variety of food, but what it does serve is tasty, properly cooked quality food. The decoration is simple but neat and tasteful. Music is also fabulous (jazz, classic rock, pop) and in the perfect volume- low enough to easily allow you have a conversation, and loud enough to listen to it if you want to. The staff is very professional but at the same time not at all stiff or army-like. They re friendly both to the customers and to each other, which makes it more pleasant to be there. Unlike other restaurants whos staff attitude makes you feel like you re in a bank or an army camp. Good food, relaxed enviroment, fast and friendly service, good music, great food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1One_For_The_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafeneon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Kafeneon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing