We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, prompt service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pani's Café opened January 1995 and run by a family of brothers and sisters. It was one of the first Italian style café in Newcastle. As authentically Italian as you can get without actually going to Italy. In Pani's Café you can find a different menu for day and night and a constantly updated special board. We offer you the chance to experience Italian home cooked food and to savour an authentic Italian coffee in a convivial atmosphere. A little piece of Italy in the heart of a beautiful city!!!
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, prompt service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We popped into Pani's for a quick meal before going to a show. The manager took us to our table and we explained that we didn't have much time .The place was quite busy but he said 'no problem', We chose our dishes and were served them in about ten minutes. The food was very tasty and served with a smile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatWoman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    208
    62
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great tasty food and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

As always read Tripadvisor before choosing where to try next, we booked for Saturday 4th May and its a good job we did as it was extremely busy, the place has a real buzz about it with every type of visitor possible, so whoever you are you will all be welcome, the waiters are incredibly efficient, I have never had service with such speed and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was gorgeous and reasonalby priced our bill was £52, for two which included starters, main, dessert a bottle of lovely house wine and an Sardnian beer.
We will return again when in the area

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Authentic italian cafe in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Popped in for lunch, service was extremely fast. Ordered the Pani's sausage salad with black pudding which was delish. Very reasonably priced and a vast selection of food. Looking forward to returning to try other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LixTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly, top of the class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although I have reviewd Panis Cafe before, I have lunch in Panis probably around 2 or 3 times a week and dinner perhaps once every couple of months.

Needless to say I am a fan.

Fine dining it is not, but if you want quality on a budget, then Panis is for you. What surprises me are the less favourable reviews I have read. I can only presume that because of Panis popularity at the number of excellent reviews it has received, expectations may be too high. All I would say, the hundreds of locals who eat in Panis every week cannot be wrong.

Keep it up Panis brothers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic, cheap, delicious Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant was a great find. The menu was varied, with lots of unusual but authentic items. Our meals and the wine we chose were delicious and the service was friendly and welcoming. The bill was incredibly reasonable for the quality and amount of food and drink we had. Pani's is extremely popular, so it's advisable to book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing