We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent atmosphere and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pani's Café opened January 1995 and run by a family of brothers and sisters. It was one of the first Italian style café in Newcastle. As authentically Italian as you can get without actually going to Italy. In Pani's Café you can find a different menu for day and night and a constantly updated special board. We offer you the chance to experience Italian home cooked food and to savour an authentic Italian coffee in a convivial atmosphere. A little piece of Italy in the heart of a beautiful city!!!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent italians if you like something a bit different with a good atmosphere and great service. Been twice and both times were good. wine is reasonable and the food is different from most run of the mill Italians

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulL225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    208
    62
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL SCICILIAN FAST FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Panis is the place we always go if we want a good Italian meal in Newcastle. Central location just off Grey Street, brilliant fast food, cooked while you wait, absolutely authentic and reasonably priced, fantastic staff - we feel like part of the family every time we go. Why would you go anywhere else? Love it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteD012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian splendor in the heart of newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

May be hidden in an ancient lane off the main highway this restaurant must be found to ensure you enjoy a fine (inexpensive) Italian meal in the center of Newcastle within walking distance of Grey's monument. Enjoy the rustic surroundings and the fine food enjoyed by all those who like good Italian cooking. ask for Robbie (the owner) who will ensure a great experience, PAUL

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just call me a 'Panis Regular'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having been a regular at Panis since the days of the sandwich toaster and the small coffee maker I have watched with pleasure the growth of Robbie and Walther's cafe/restaurant/all round great eaterie. The lunch time menu is well 'spiced up' by 'specials' on the chalk board and the pasta is some of the best you can get in the City. The wine list has much to interest you and at not too high a price and if not then there is always a cold beer or 'juice' ( my favourite being the blood orange or the mandarin). The selection of sandwiches in ciabatta are excellent and the mozarella they use is cool and creamy and the Chicken Milanese is really good . In the evening the meals are excellent value for the theatre-goers to the nearbyTheatre Royal. I would recommend the 'Fregula Sarda con gambreda' ,with a little chilli , a real treat. Service as always is quick yet friendly . Bravo Robbie and Walther and a special thanks to the Chefs and kitchen for consistently great food over many years . Not perfect but the bench mark for anyone who wants to be better !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were spending the day in Newcastle with friends, one of them had been here a few times previously and suggested we try it.

I quite like the interior, we were seated through the back, and while not full, there was a nice atmosphere.

The menu is quite small but there was something for everyone, plus a nice selection of beers and wines. The food was good, all ten of our party enjoyed the meals, there were no complaints.

I thought the price was okay, maybe slightly high, but it wasn't too bad. The staff were attentive but not overbearing.

We enjoyed out visit and while I would be happy to visit again, it didn't stand out enough to have me rushing back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P4ULH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing