We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pani's Café opened January 1995 and run by a family of brothers and sisters. It was one of the first Italian style café in Newcastle. As authentically Italian as you can get without actually going to Italy. In Pani's Café you can find a different menu for day and night and a constantly updated special board. We offer you the chance to experience Italian home cooked food and to savour an authentic Italian coffee in a convivial atmosphere. A little piece of Italy in the heart of a beautiful city!!!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'd been recommended this place by loads of people, and had been before for coffee and snacks which was nice, but when it came to having a sit down meal I was really disappointed!

I ordered pasta with smoked salmon, but it was really something I could have made myself at home in a few minutes without paying £7 for the privilege. There was hardly any salmon (in fact most of the dish was made up of reheated frozen peas and pasta) and the food came in about 2 minutes which I suspect is about how long it took to microwave.

The staff made no effort to hide the fact that they were just trying to get us in and out as quickly as possible to free the table, and the juice (this is a particular pet hate of mine!) was not only not fresh, but one of the ones with added sugar and "vitimines" which make it taste fake and processed.

My friend's food was better but still nothing special, and in general the experience wasn't great. I won't be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    208
    63
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top drawer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been coming here for years now and it's always great service and even better food. They've began opening on an evening now, and again it's top notch and in line with their daytime standards.
The staff are always attentive and friendly, especially with kids in tow which is nice.
Full of Guardian readers though, being 'seen'. Hey ho you can't have it all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for an early dinner yesterday. Place was already full and buzzing- so pleased we booked. Service was first class, friendly and efficient. We had 3 different meals and 3 different desserts and all were excellent. Wine was good and not expensive by restaurant standards.
The best thing I could say is that I I'll defo go again when next in he Toon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCH059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had be meaning to go here for a while after a friend recommended it a couple of years back. Finally got round to it this year and wasn't disappointed! The atmosphere inside was bustling, but although the tables were quite close together, we never really felt like we were on top of everyone else.

Both my husband and I opted for the ravioli off the specials board and it was very tasty and really good value. It was investing to note how familiar the staff were with a lot of the customers. They obviously have a loyal fan base who have been coming here for years. To me, this is a sign of a consistently good restaurant which is a rarity in this age of one minute wonders.

Popped in a few weeks later for a sandwich and it was just a nice. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was alone in Newcastle on a trip. It's not always easy to settle alone into a restaurant, but I was made to feel welcome one weekday night. I chose three starters, and it was very plentiful and delicious. I chose vegetarian options, of which there were plenty and there was a tasty authenticity about it. Also had a delicious banana juice to drink and was served speedily by charming young staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing