We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing !”

The Valley Junction 397
Ranked #223 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $72
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I were staying in Newcastle for a few nights and fancied a change of food. We just happened to stumble across this Restraunt as we were wandering around. We were so pleased we did. The food is of the highest quality. All of our courses were delicious with wonderful flavours. The breads and accompaniments were gorgeous too! The Restraunt is lovely and clean and spacious and the tables are well laid out. The waiters were all very friendly and offered fantastic service. We ended up going back the following night and then again the next time we were in Newcastle. Super food and can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    47
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favourite curry house in Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is our favourite curry house in Newcastle - and we've tried quite a few! I'd particularly recommend ShatKora Delight - a lovely lemony curry. Unlike some places, the food here isn't greasy or oily - just full of flavour, meat and vegetables, and very fresh tasting. The service and food are both great, and the surroundings are also really nice - it is a clean and well maintained restaurant. Although it is a bit tucked away, there are a few great places nearby for a drink before or after too - The Carriage next door and As You Like It/Mr Lynch just a minute or two away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwak_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food, location and service. A little gem hidden away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the 4th time we have visited valley junction and each time it is amazing. The choice of food is varied and reasonably priced. We always book so not to be disappointed as it is only a small venue but packed with character. This old converted signal box is tucked away in Newcastle, and is next to a quaint little pub called 'the carridge' ( appropriate) and is definitely our favourite place for what we feel is authentic Indian food. Its tasty, hot and unlike anything we have ever had before. This place is a gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieD591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
294 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“very good curry and unusual location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Curry house in an old station-house and carriage. The food is always good as is the service, the menu is quite broad, have been on many occasions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great food and good service at a reasonable price (£23 for 2 courses, rice, paratha and a beer).

Good atmosphere and was busy tonight but plenty of staff on to make service smooth.

A bit of a quirky venue situated in a converted train carriage. Worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Valley Junction 397 also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Valley Junction 397? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing