We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - one of the best places I've eaten”
Review of Sachins Restaurant

Sachins Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went there on a Friday night and the place was full of people.
The service was brilliant and we were quickly taken to our seats after having looked through the menu.
The staff helped to pick dishes based on what we said we liked, and the choices were fantastic.
Tasting the pappadums and accompniments was enough to set the taste buds on red alert - not so much for the heat, but the exceptional taste.
Starters included paneer, kebab, prawns and chicken - the plates were clean when they were taken away.
Main courses were equally wonderful, but having gorged on the starters we were unable to get through the main course. We did try .... !!! Even though we were full up, it was as hame to see the food being taken away as the taste and flavours were tinglingo nthe tongue.

I'm sure there are other places in Newcastle, but I am looking forward to coming to this city again and eating at Sachins......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meeten_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobArora88, Owner at Sachins Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi Meeten_is
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Sachins.
Not sure if I am right but I am guessing you tried both the Spice Trail menu and the Original Menu.
Glad to read you all enjoyed your meal. We look forward to meeting you all again whenever your in Toon next.
Thanks again.
Bob & Neeta Arora & The Sachins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 668 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

been here many times and I compare all other Indians to sachins as I think this is the best in uk.
lamb chops for starters and sea bass dakshini for main and you cannot go wrong.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arky25Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobArora88, Owner at Sachins Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi arky25Scotland
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
After reading your review I can see your a fan of the Spice Trail menu.
The lamb chops are packed full of flavour as is the Sea Bass Dakshani.
If your a fan of salmon you must give the Salmon Tikka a try this starter is cooked in the tandoor and it is full of flavour.
Thanks again.
Bob & Neeta Arora & The Sachins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Its been about 11 years since i had eaten here. However i certainly wont leave it that long again. The service was impeccable, all the staff were so friendly and attentive. We were taken straight to our table and drinks arrived within a couple of minutes after ordering. The food , well my tastebuds were going on overdrive. The meat just melted in my mouth and the spices were extremely well evened out. The best bit was the peshwari bread, so sweet it balanced all that spice out. The decor was immaculate, lots of little corners to sit in but it can also cater for large parties. To be honest i cant wait till we go back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobArora88, Owner at Sachins Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi Simone S
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am glad you remembered us after 11 years.
Not sure if you have tried our new Spice Trail menu but you must give it a try.
We look forward too seeing you all agin soon.
Thanks again.
Bob & Neeta Arora & The Sachins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sachin's is a very well known and popular Indian restaurant in Newcastle. The restaurant is well established and known in the area. The staff are really welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Larger parties are catered for upstairs but many diners enjoy cozy little tables downstairs too. The food is served piping hot and the menu gives a wide choice of well known Indian dishes. As with any good restaurant, its the food that really counts and here Sachin's really does not disappoint. The aroma of the spices and taste of the food genuinely reflect Indian cuisine at its best. The food is not overly hot but the flavours are delicately balanced and tasty. A highly recommended choice for an authentic Indian meal in Newcastle upon Tyne.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BJDorani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobArora88, Owner at Sachins Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi BJDorani
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
After reading your review I am guessing you have been in recently with a large party.
Not sure if you have tried our Spice Trail menu but you must give it a try.
The most popular starter is the Chilli Chingri, these king prawns are full of flavour and they have a nice kick of spice.
Thanks again.
Bob & Neeta Arora & The Sachins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Friday night early evening. The restaurant does not look much from outside but is nicely decorated inside and well laid out. The place was quite busy but despite this not too noisy and not too long to get served.
The food itself was excellent with slightly more spice than many local Indians - just the way we like it

Definitely will be getting a second visit from us.

Thank TopCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobArora88, Owner at Sachins Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi TopCats
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Sachins.
Whenever we see you next you must give our Sachins Tandoori a try. The sizzling platter has a mix of 5 different Tandoori dishes. The best bit are the chargrilled onions at the bottom of the skillet.
Thanks again.
Bob & Neeta Arora & The Sachins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachins Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sachins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing