We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet quality”

Restaurant at Horton Grange
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Horton Grange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #293 of 1,265 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $98 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This elegant restaurant is located in the award-winning Horton Grange County House Hotel in Tyne and Wear, situated on the picturesque Blagdon Estate and surrounded by three acres of lush gardens. Newly refurbished, the Horton Grange restaurant is a light and airy room which enjoys views of the grounds. Proximity to Ponteland and the Newcastle International Airport makes it ideal for working lunches and weekend escapes from busy schedules. The Horton Grange's modern European menu features favourites such as the terrine of local venison, pistachio and Parma ham served with a Pimento chutney; salad of local crab with Gazpachio dressing and caviar; and the slow-cooked shoulder of lamb served with crispy pancetta, roast garlic and goat's cheese mash.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet quality”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent menu and fabulous quality steaks from local supplier. Relaxed atmosphere with coffee in the lounge area recommended. A nice place for special occasions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianm713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great personal service and good food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found the staff here friendly and attentive.
The living room was lovely, and the gardens were very inviting. The dining room is not decorated quite in keeping with the rest of the hotel, which was a shame.
The food was good, but the side choices and flavours were not quite as good as they could have been. The champagne was delicious - we would be curious to know which it is, because we'd love to get it again. The starter was the highlight however, a salmon risotto. We had the duck and the lamb and shared both. Well cooked, but as I say, the sides could have been better. Couscous and casoulet were not quite what we were craving. The cheese boards were good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iainandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved the setting of the hotel, the food in the restaurant was amazing.

The staff were friendly, I have stayed both in the hotel & in the garden rooms, both lovely and clean & comfortable.

If you ring up at the last minute and they have availability they will do you a good discount., Last time I paid £100 for two people Dinner Bed & Breakfast. I spent approx £60 on drink.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“1st time but won't be the last”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we visited the restaurant for lunch a couple of weeks ago with 2 senior friends who had been many time's. We were met in the hall by a very curtious attendent and shown into the living room were upon we were asked which drinks we would like as well as given the menu's, nothing was rushed and after being shown to our table the attendent could not do enough for us, we had the 3 course lunch and both my wife and I could not fault the food, atmosphere or service.
We will be soon taking family members back for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet lunch, quality food and fantastic service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just back from lunch at Horton Grange restaurant. It was very quiet but that's how we like it. We were served by a lovely waitress called Annie who was just the right side of attentive. She must have had sixth sense as she always knew when to attend the table. I had fish cakes with dauphinois potatoes and my partner had rump steak with bernaise sauce and fat chips. The salmon fish cakes were lush the tartare sauce was lovely too and the potatoes were excellent. My partners steak was very nice he said. The only point he would have preferred his bernaise sauce on the side in a little jug or pot so he could decide how much to have. For pud I had rhubarb Eton mess and my partner had banana pudding with toffee sauce. Both plates went back completely clean which is always a good sign. I would suggest that Horton Grange promotes itself more as we live about three miles a way and had no idea it was there. Dress code is smart casual, jeans are fine. Price wise lunch was just under £50 which was reasonable for the quality of the food.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j2cru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Horton Grange also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Stannington, Northumberland
 
Stannington, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Restaurant at Horton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing