We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed everything about our visit......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Paradiso Newcastle - NORTH EAST RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016 As voted by the Food Awards England. One of those restaurants you'll discover by word of mouth rather than by walking past. Tucked away down Market Lane, Paradiso is a hidden treasure. The restaurant is split into three main floors. The first floor, which is also the main seating floor seats up to 60, has a bar and a spacious outdoor terrace for alfresco dining. The second floor contains the open-plan kitchen and another seating area, which is able to seat up to 50. This floor is smaller than the first floor, but is still capable of holding large parties with ease, and again, we can accommodate parties of any size and number. If you require more privacy, our third floor is a private dining room which can seat up to 45. As this room features skylights, it is a bright, warm space and is spacious enough to be used for any kind of event, such as dining, presentations and so on.
Level Contributor
428 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,112 helpful votes
“We enjoyed everything about our visit......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a lovely surprise.....from the welcome, to the atmosphere, the food and service......this restaurant is tucked away in a side street and I doubt I would have found it had not a local friend (who is a regular) taken us there. I'm a southerner and we could do with this in London.

I particularly loved the bread and the fresh ingredients in every dish we ordered. There were no yobs....just a restaurant full of nice people, lots of smiling faces enjoying good food and a perfect evening atmosphere. We could have been anywhere.......even Italy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    182
    71
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A true hidden gem, excellent friendly service with outstanding value for money.
Nothing is too much trouble for the ever welcoming staff, definitely going to return soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredwah2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited Paridisio tonight. ,my bruschetta starter of crostini with mozerella,tomatoes and pesto was very poor.My husband had mussels marinere had chilli and coriander in it .Our mains of meat ravioli and lentil stew looked microwaived .In fact we both agreed worst meal we have had anywhere in a long time and we eat out quite often .Only plus side ,nice staff and outside terrace but would not recommend .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited Paradiso for my birthday on the 29th July 2013. Upon arrival I was greeted with a happy birthday and the pre-ordered proseccu was quickly whisked out (chilled to perfection and highly recommended). The menu was varied and tasty and they were more than happy to adapt to suit my sons blander palate, we plumped for the three course set menu in the end after much deliberation and each course was very tasty, the steak was very tender with some of the largest crispy hand cooked chips I have seen, the duck confit was also very nice and all three deserts where a perfect end to the meal. A key feature of the night was the service provided by Giuseppo which was excellent and we left with a traditional Italian goodbye like family members, we will definately be back soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PIXIELADY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So glad I found here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited for the first time yesterday for a three course lunch-excellent food, great value and very nice staff. Being in the hospitality trade myself I am often over critical but I can find nothing negative to say! A real hidden gem-will be back for sure

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shamilitaktak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing