We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious sunday brunch!”

Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Newcastle
Ranked #268 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sleek and seductive, Malmaison offers a daringly fashionable setting for sampling sumptuous flavours. Committed to serving the highest quality ingredients, Malmaison sources honest produce from treasured suppliers, and crafts a cutting-edge reinvention of favourite regional recipes. Offsetting the chic dining room, a cosmopolitan bar serves freshly shaken cocktails and an eclectic selection of smooth world wines.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious sunday brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Took my father and elderly grandfather to sunday brunch at the malmaison and we were delighted with the brilliant quality of the food served. Starters were laid out on the 'chefs table' with a good variety of foods such as soup, hams and cheeses, salads etc. Chef was on hand to prepare specific warm food and a specially prepared omelete was lovely. Main courses were generously sized and very tasty. But the desserts were by far the best aspect of the meal and we all managed to finish one despite impressive amounts of food already eaten. Service was very friendly if a little slow and there was a nice atmosphere. However, father complained of background music which was quite intrusive and loud so not good for those with bad hearing. But lovely overall!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charvil-ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    113
    77
    59
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quality afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My sister in law booked afternoon tea here for four of us on a Saturday afternoon. More cakes and sandwiches than we could eat! Excellent quality at a very reasonable price. Afternoon tea comes with a selection of finger sandwiches, variety of mini cakes, scones and eclairs, with plenty of jam and cream for the scones. All accompanied by a wide selection of teas, including decaf choices. The bar where it's served is a little dark and dingy, but the food makes up for it. Staff are friendly and efficient. One of the best afternoon teas I've had. Very impressed by ability to provide for special dietary requirements, one of our group is gluten and dairy intolerant, yet her afternoon tea was just as good, with cakes, dark chocolate fruit and sandwiches. Nice that the waitress offered to box up the cakes we couldn't manage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our son and his partner took us here for a Saturday lunch - admiittedly we had money off vouchers but even so the absolutely fantastic choice of food for the starter was mind blowing - the main course was good but the buffet "have as much as you want" was top notch as well as being unlimited in quantity. We have promised we'd try out the brasserie in Liverpool but haven't got round to that yet. We would definately go back to the Newcastle one though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average & Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went here on a Saturday night in May 2013. The food was alright, the house red was good and the overall cost was £325. There are loads of better places in the city to eat so won't be coming back here. Overall, very disappointing and overpriced for what we had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay2815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location and fab food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Newcastle, the Quayside area and Malmaison. It was a brilliant evening - it was Bank Holiday so pretty busy and the bar area was buzzing when we arrived. Lovely cocktails, including a Woo-woo for me, went down a treat as we sat and looked out over the Blinking Eye bridge. The meal itself was delicious - the tastiest fish cake I've ever had, daughter's fillet steak cooked just right. Service was perhaps a bit over-zealous - I can pour my own wine, thank you. A slight mix up with the bill but generally service was friendly and efficient. Didn't really want to leave - décor and ambience are stylish, warm and welcoming!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshwonderoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing