We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know why it has so many top reviews”
Review of Mascalzone

Mascalzone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pizza , Sardinian Tapas ,pasta , lasagne , seafood Salads , Breakfast Menu , Cakes ,Croissants , Deli , Sandwiches , Coffees , Teas , Wines and Beers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found Mascalzone on Trip Advisor and thought it impossible to have so many fantastic reviews so decided to try. Now I know why.
The welcome was enthusiastic and pleasant, the service equally as good and the food fabulous. The anti-pasta starter was huge and varied although chef could a little less enthusiastic with the balsamic dressing. We both had spaghetti carbonara and I can honestly say one of the best I have had outside of Italy.
Its only small but full of retro character so essential to reserve a table. Note its a hidden gem and not easy to find
We will be back to sample some of the other fine food on the menu or even have another carbonara

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to this place 5 or 6 times the food is very nice maybe a tad expensive, never the less we like it, by the way it's best to book before.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank littlebella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Malcalzone is in the Sandyford area of Newcastle which is quiet and residential. I'd recommend pre-dinner drinks at the Blue Bell and then a walk up the road to the restaurant. The restaurant is small so booking is essential. Food and service were good and I will be going back if I can get booked up!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GeordieGardeningGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us had a really nice meal here. I didn’t enjoy my pizza as much as I thought I would otherwise this would have been 5. The other meals were excellent (lasagna and carbonara). Certainly would come back and definitely worth coming slightly out of the city centre for.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank TB41n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

First time visit with family and friends. We were lucky to get a table for 8. Small, cosy restaurant with great staff and excellent food.
Wonderful atmosphere. We will be back....

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank CampbellFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mascalzone also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mascalzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing