We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag & Hen Central!”
Review of The Hanson Hotel

The Hanson Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hanson Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're planning a hen or stag do in Newcastle then this is the place to stay, PERIOD!

The hotel is a 10-15min taxi ride from Newcastle central station. There is a convenience store (Nisa) just across the road to stock up on water/snacks for hangovers etc. and booze too to get the party started!

The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. The rooms are of a good size and the showers are in very good order.

The highlight to this hotel is Meg, the most amazing, wonderful and caring person you could ever come across. I will be back to Newcastle for sure and will definitely stay in the same place based on the wonderful experience thanks to Meg. She tells it like it is in HD! Not for anyone expecting politically correct speech.

The breakfast served is sheer perfection, not too much and just right to help put you on the right foot from the night before! Served with a huge smile and happiness by Meg which helps most hangovers to ease away.

In conclusion if you want to have a truly memorable and spectacular stag/hen experience then make sure you start off on the right foot by staying in this hotel. Meg will take care of your every needs, tell you great stories and make it a stay you will never forget!

Thank you for looking after us all! Dan wise stag party 2013 - We rocked the Tyne!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudioGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The Hanson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

we just stayed at the hanson hotel on 17th may for 2 nights. all i can say is if u want a hotel in newcastle this is 110% the only one u will need.. MEG the landlady who looks after you from moment u walk in is the best hotelier ive ever met and i work in a major hotel in leeds/bradford area so i know what its like. she is hillarious/funny/crazy lol but mainly she cares and has a laugh with all her guests. when we was there she not only had our stag party of 14 in but also a group of lads from manchester area bout 16 of them (chris was one of them) to look after and she just litterally did it with ease and became one of the lads lol. i would highly recommened this hotel to everyone i know or anyone who wants to stay in newcastle.
ps if that chris from other group see's this, message me on facebook u was well fit ha .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at The Hansen Hotel 26th - 28th April for my sisters hen do there was 14 of us and none of us can say a bad word about it. Everything was brilliant. Meg greeted us on arrival such a lovely lady, we had a slumber party the 1st night. The breakfast was great just what you need couldn't fault it at all. We are looking to go back in November for one of the girls birthdays, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going on a weekend up in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

14 of us stayed at the Hansen for 2 nights last weekend and we were all so impressed with how Meg, the landlady, was so prepared for our hen weekend. She gave us 2 paper slips with the name of the hotel on it and the code to the door written on the back. When I asked her why we needed 2 she simply said "thats for when you get p! $$€* and loose one"!! She also handed us an approved taxi business card and said that they will get us home safely and cheaply. The cards even had a picture of the hotel on it so all we had to do was show the driver and he would know where to take us! Breakfast was great, rooms clean, towels changed daily and beds comfy. This is not designed for a luxurious or romantic getaway- this is hen/stag weekend accommodation done properly! Great weekend away and Meg's bulldog DuDu is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life-is-a-diet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Meg (the landlady) is brilliant! Very down to earth and totally geared up for stag and hen parties. Rooms are clean and have everything you need even tea and coffee making facility's for the mornings hangover. The breakfast is good and well worth getting up for.
There were 17 in our group from Kent and we all agreed it was the the perfect hotel in the perfect location for what we were doing. This is not somewhere you'd stay for a romantic weekend with your partner and it doesn't claim to be!
Easy acess from the Metro too.
Maximum respect for Meg she's a star.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svickery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed there for my stag weekend. The hotel was perfect for me and my mates! Clean, tidy, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was just perfect after a night out!! I would highly recommend this hotel for any lads or lasses in groups wanting an ideal place to stay! Only a shirt taxi drive into town or a ten minute walk. I'd Definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markgixxer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in the Hansen hotel for 3 nights with four friends ........ when we arrived at the hotel we had a lovely warm welcome from "MEG" the landlady she showed us straight to our rooms which were a tidy size nice and really clean ....... the cooked breakfast is outstanding and she catered for any of our needs as some of us were on certain diets ....... she was more tahn happy to help "like a mother" and as wild as we went the weekend she has already welcomed us back next time...... if this was premier inn travellodge or any other hotel. We would have been out on our heads after the first night never to return haha!!!!! when we go back in the summer there will be no question in which hotel to stay in and i would recomend it to everyone and anyone . :) thanks for an amazing weekend .......

Room Tip: If you go on a stag or a boys weekend the 4 or 5 sharer rooms are outstanding for partying as they a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanson Hotel

Address: 131 Sandyford Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE33 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $56 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hanson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hanson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing