We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Byermoor Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having stayed at the Hilton before we found this guest house by luck. Great guest house.gardens were amazing. Room was very comfortable.karl made us a lovey breakfast, his mother even gave us some home made jam thanks jackie. Karl couldn't do enough for us. Well positioned for central Newcastle and the Northumberland coast. Will definately go back. Lovely family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404SG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was lovely. The hosts were very accommodating and the grounds where the B&B are situated are beautiful. We would definitely stay here again. Many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great guest house. Very comfortable room/facilities and attractive grounds. Excellent breakfast. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Good location for Chester le Street [cricket !]

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay here in one twin and one double room. Both were spotlessly clean, comfortable and with very spacious bathrooms. The windows had lovely views over the surrounding countryside and the beautiful gardens which you are free to relax in. Karl was a brilliant host, very welcoming, friendly and attentive and the breakfast was tasty with a wide selection of cooked and cold options. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found East Byermoor via TouristNet UK.

Our only complaint is we had to leave after just 2 nights!

Excellent breakfast.
Large, comfortable room with great extras such as a hairdryer and hot drinks in your room.
Nice, large en-suite bathroom with nice touches such as robes and toiletries.
The hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful (tea and cake on arrival!).



Thank You Karl, Jaqui and Edith.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am making this review on my wife's behalf as she and her friend were on a nostalgia visit to Newcastle whilst I minded the fort!
I normally source hotels and guest houses for ourselves and friends so this was no exception.
Val phoned me a number of times over the four days of their trip. This was partly to let me know that all was well but also to extol the virtues of East Byermoor GH.

They were met with tea and cake on arrival. A beautiful fruit cake which was well received.The family were 'lovely' and the owners could not be more helpful, giving detailed information on attractions and road conditions throughout the county!
The beds were very clean (as was the property, throughout) and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with 'mushrooms to die for' and the ambience was enhanced by tea lights in abundance.
The gardens were extensive and relaxing as was the local area.The hospitality tray was refreshed daily including the biscuits.

They may well return to Newcastle at some point in order to visit Beamish museum which they were unable to do and will certainly re book with Karl, Jacqui and Edith.
Highly recommended.

Mike.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just stayed with this lovely family and found first rate hospitality, food and rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for Karl Jacqui and Edith, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The road can be noisy early mornings, but we just shut the window and enjoyed the view.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
4.4 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
513 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
755 reviews
4.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Byermoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Byermoor Guest House

Address: Fellside Road | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $100 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Byermoor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Byermoor Guest House & Tea Rooms. 4 Star Silver Award Bed & Breakfast Accommodation located in beautiful countryside, overlooking Gibside Estate and Whickham Golf Club yet only 3 miles from the MetroCentre and 7 miles from Newcastle city centre. Fantastic views, lovely gardens, ample car parking. Local bus stops at bottom of drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your East Byermoor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing