We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good some not so good in our opinion.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Byermoor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Byermoor Guest House
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
341 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Some good some not so good in our opinion.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights at East Byermoor. There are some good things about this B & B and some that we had difficulty with. The positive is that it is a very short drive to get into Newcastle, but you are staying in a country setting. However the property is on a road that gets very busy at 5 am with cars going in to the city. This was a problem for us as we live in a very quiet place so we were woken early each morning. It may not be a problem if you live in a town and are used to traffic. Parking is excellent and off road in their big private car park. The owners are very nice friendly people. The bedroom was ok but quite small and the twin beds had very small duvets on them. One was a goose or duck down duvet which was ok but one was synthetic which was very hot. The shower cubicle was very small and could be a problem for some, although fine for us. The room was very clean. The welcome was good with cake and tea. We had very hard boiled eggs for breakfast one day and overcooked poached eggs the other day. The breakfast area is in a lovely conservatory. The whole experience we thought was not up to the standard of other B & B's we have stayed in, although it is not expensive at all for the area. A big positive is that opposite there are lovely walks into the Gibside estate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
71
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Genuine, friendly and accommodating owners. The rooms were light and airy, beautifully decorated and had everything you need for your stay all the little details were thought of (plenty of towels, toiletries, cotton wool, cotton buds etc in the bathroom, hair dryer, suitcase stand, lots of hangers in the wardrobe, tv with dock for ipod, radio/alarm, full length mirror, bottled water, biscuits, tea, coffee and hot chocolate). Beds were comfortable, the rooms have great views of the countryside and the lovely garden. The cooked breakfast in the morning was very tasty and is eaten in a dining room that has an open aspect with views of the garden. We arrived back after a long day out to be greeted with a fresh pot of tea and some cake. Lovely people, we are planning to return to the area later in the year and will definitely book here to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormygreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having cycled 46 miles in awful weather and arriving late we couldn't have wished for a warmer welcome. Our dripping clothes were popped in the tumble drier and a pot of tea and slice of cake appeared within minutes. Jacqui and her mother in law even helped us order delicious food from the local italian takeaway. The room was beautiful and comfortable with great attention to detail like a chocolate at the side of the bed and the bathing products in the ensuite. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and even the sun managed to shine, providing stunning views from the conservatory. A great B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A fantastic family welcome with excellent facilities and a great breakfast. If I am ever in the Newcastle area I will use this guest house as it was clean and welcoming. Couldnt fault the caring attitude of the owners.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter but we had the room at the front and slept really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello delle Forme, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here this weekend and what a great find.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like old friends.
The cottage is stunning, and the rooms are immaculate, with lovely furnishings and a super comfy bed.
Breakfast on Sunday was to die for, we had so much we didnt eat again that day!

We spent Saturday evening at Sorella Sorella, a nearby Italian resturarant, and had a good meal with plenty of wine, for 4 at £25.00. It was very busy so you do need to book in advance.

As for East Byermoor Guest House, we shall definitely return , this time for a much longer stay.

Karl and family are a delight.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and have great veiws. All very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I used the B&B for 4 nights, 2 on my own then my wife joined me for 2 nights. The room was clean and my wife (who has back problems) found the bed comfy and had 2 good nights sleep. The owners were pleasant and helpful. I'd certainly stop again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trammanNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited here in early January as the first snows of 2013 took hold. Even though we were up on the moors, it was the perfect place to be - all main roads gritted, fantastic snowy views from the house and lovely hosts. The room was warm and the breakfast superb. Lots of things to do in the area, and plenty of decent places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
6.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
4.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Byermoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Byermoor Guest House

Property: East Byermoor Guest House
Address: Fellside Road | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — East Byermoor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Byermoor Guest House & Tea Rooms. 4 Star Silver Award Bed & Breakfast Accommodation located in beautiful countryside, overlooking Gibside Estate and Whickham Golf Club yet only 3 miles from the MetroCentre and 7 miles from Newcastle city centre. Fantastic views, lovely gardens, ample car parking. Local bus stops at bottom of drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your East Byermoor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing