We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night at The Opera”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.77*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Night at The Opera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were at the theatre for an Opera North production of Puccini's 'Girl of the Golden West' . A fantastic production and well reviewed elsewhere .
The Theatre itself is well served by parking throughout Newcastle City centre and by Metro from the Monument .The theatre is an absolute gem . recently renovated in the original 'Frank Matcham' style a cacophany of gold and Victoriana , it is intimate in it's relationship to the stage and the physical proximity to the actors . The feel of the place and the atmosphere is almost without parallel in regional theatre and compared to the condition of many West End theatres IT IS without parallel
A fantastic selection of pieces , from West End musicals to children's shows , stand up , the world beating RSC and Propeller theatre companies , Opera North , Ballet Rambert and the excellent dance shows spun off by Vincent and Flavia from 'Strictly Come Dancing' and don't forget the 'Geordie' traditional pantomime.
There are a multitude of places to eat at the quayside or at the theatre or in the City Centre and the theatre bar in the grand Circle is well worth a visit .
Do yourself a favour and go on-line to the Theatre Royal for the next 12 months and pick a show ....you will not be disappointed.Have a great night out!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    164
    44
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“lovely staff and efficient service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nothing really to dislike. Seats could maybe be a bit more graded but we were able to see fine. We also got half price tickets on the day which was great. Seats were comfortable and a nice looking theatre.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“JACK AND THE BEANSTALK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

FAB SHOW. got sum cheap tickets to go see this show was amazing. the effects are unreal that they use and every years panto gets better and better I don't no how they do it. went to see this show 4 times and every time I went I was in stiches with the jokes and had a really good time.

the only downfall was loads of kids (which I no its a panto fairenuff) but when there are about 5 kids infront of you with flashy strobe toys gets annoying. the drinks and sweets are well overpriced. £4 at least for a pint. and about £2.50 for a bag of sweets. would deffo recommend going to poundland before the show and save ur self some money

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2010danny2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This really is a lovely theatre. Yes it is pricey but i believe this is true of all theatres. They have everything you could need. A cafe/bar area. A bar on the second floor. Snacks and sweets to buy. It was such a pleasure to visit again after the renovation which seems to have been done very well. The location is central and ideal for public transport and various bars and restaurants.

I took my son here to see the gruffalo's child (which he loved). I noticed lots of cushions piled at the sides and thought it looked a bit odd until i realised that they were to place on the seats to lift small children a bit higher - doh! ha ha. A nice helpful touch. As usual when going to see a kids show they have for sale VERY expensive toys/trinkets. My advice would be to steer well clear (unless you have loads of money) buy something related to the theme before you go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Viva Evita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a wonderful theatre this with is great acoustics a real "old fashioned place" Fixed seats so you do not need to worry about them tipping when you stand and Evita was brilliantly performed.
High teen low twenties are best seats Only problem was we booked the restaurant which was closed for refurbishment which should have been known at the time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodySnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing