We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely building the Theatre Hall is all wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.77*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely building the Theatre Hall is all wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were allowed to view the Theatre to say it was day time and no show or concert been on. You can have a lovely coffee or a bite to eat if you wish .Gift shop and history of the building .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kain2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    164
    44
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Evening at the Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely evening I the theatre. Great venue, fresh, clean, extravagant and great service I. The bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,244 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great imposing theatre on the equally great Grey Street bang in the centre of the City. Recent multi-million pound refurb has retained all of the tradition of the place but the old seats were definitely more comfy!

I also experienced great customer service from them following a mistake they had made with my booking (wrong date!). The seats I had booked were no longer available so, without me even asking, a very nice, helpful and proactive member of staff offered to let us use a box that was available for no additional charge. All done with a lovely smile and no sense that she felt it was my mistake (which it wasn't). Fantastic service and the type of response Management should be proud of.

I have seen Panto's, Comedians, Circus, Musicals and Ice shows in this Theatre - and they all seem to work! Well done - a theatre to be proud of.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New makeover is spectacular !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow !. Looks absolutely brilliant. But be warned. Personally I find the new seats are a little uncomfortable. Wont stop me going, but might take my 'cricket' cushion with me from now on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely night out, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband bought us tickets to see High Society at the Theatre Royal recently and this was the first time we had been since the recent major refurbishment. It has been beautifully restored, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KNorthumberland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing