We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.58*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to the Theatre Royal on 3 occasions now it's the best theatre i have been in. The atmosphere is amazing the seats lovely and comfortable and i can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmarie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    164
    44
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
402 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great architecture!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is a very nice building to see. Great architecture and it seems well kept. Unfortunately we weren't able to go inside.. So can't say anything about that. But I believe it is worth a visit. Something for my next visit in Newcastle!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ladykillers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

First of all the set was a work of art in itself.
Great character acting.
Script did feel dated with 1950/60 humour but I was eventually lulled into a giggle at times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“good restoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went last night to see Ladykillers and had a wonderful time.This was the first time we had been since the big restoration and we certainly were not disappointed.
The size of the theatre is perfect for plays as it isn't too big and you still have a good view from further back. Am going back in June and got a booklet which has a lot of events coming up which will suit a large range of tastes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"royalty "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to see "Bobby Thompson" 14/3/2013 this place has been sympathetically and beautifully restored we had the grand circle box BB what a view couldn,t have wished for a better seat. The show was great and was also nice and warm on a particularly cold day, all four of us had a great time well done!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janetb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing