We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly B&B in Jesmond area, 20 mins walk from city”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly B&B in Jesmond area, 20 mins walk from city”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

If its your first time in the city, hop in a taxi. We've stayed before and it is in between Jesmond and West Jesmond Metro stops (West being a touch closer). This time we stayed 2 nights. Our room was small but comfortable. We had a TV with Freeview, Radio alarm clock, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities plus a separate shower and bathroom. Breakfast (8.30 to 9.30) was a good variation of choice. The Hosts are lovely people and if you need any help they will point you in the right direction. If you are not prepared to pay the astronomic prices for a Hotel in the city centre then this is a good choice. £60 per room per night at time of writing, with the Metro being £1.40 from Newcastle to either of the Jesmond stations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpeake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

These reviews are strange as one has to wonder what people expect when they book a hotel.

This is a small Newcastle B&B in the student area of Jesmond.

If you are looking for a marble and stainless steel reception, a gym, a pool, a spa, a minibar, top class restaurant, valet parking, a bell hop, or similar then this is not the place for you.

If you want a good central position, a good nights sleep, a good clean room, a good breakfast and a friendly welcome then this place is ideal. And it has free wifi.

All for £65 B&B.

Please keep things in perspective.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madmaggie44
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Food was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for Maxine and her family. Room very clean and comfortable and the location was just right - close to the bus and metro and not too far to walk into the city. Very quiet and peaceful. I feel I picked just the right place for me and I have already booked again for myself and my husband. I feel I have made new friends with this family and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madmaggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had expected so much by online description, but on arrival, the playpen on the front patio and weeds at the entrance struck a warning note.Inside, the dark hall (with an ironing board propped against the wall)led to a dingy stairway which took us to a chill back room overlooking yet more weeds below.This room didn't even boast a chair.The shower cubicle was so small that the door opened every time my husband turned round in it! Breakfast , (in a downstairs room which bizarrely, ran into the open kitchen) was workmanlike.The brick wall view outside was relieved by two wheelie bins.Sport blared from a vast TV to our left. We paid for one of our booked nights and did not stay the second, but were charged. Dire. Who controls 'hotel' ratings in Newcastle?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oxfordwhistleblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Really friendly people run this place. I found it lovely and quiet and really good value for money. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaricUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I really don't understand people on these pages who write negative reviews. My wife and I recently spent an anniversary weekend with Maxine and co at The Adelphi.

I did hesitate slightly after reading some of the comments on here, but decided to use my previous experince of b&b's like this one and was glad I did!

Clean, very cosy and friendly and the breakfasts were lovely.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about a short stay in Newcastle. The short distance away from the city itself, (2 miles), makes it ideal for a peaceful nghts sleep away from the bustle of Osborne Rd, which is all residentially licensed and all close at 11.30.
The student accomodation mentioned by another reviewer is actually 2/3 blocks away and was very quiet anyway!
keep up the good work Maxine maybe see you again soon sometime.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmybarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2008

I recently stayed at the Adelphi with two friends, the location was excellent and so handy being students in search of a good time. The distance to Osborne road is great not too far to walk yet far enough to not hear a thing!

Great value you for money you definately get what you pay for!!!

Full cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit and tea or coffee what more could you ask for?!

I reccomend a stay for sure and we will be back some time in the new yr to hit the Jan sales at the Metro Centre!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 63 Fern Avenue | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing