We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel Great Location”
Review of Albatross Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatross Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Hostel Great Location”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A very large, safe, well run and clean hostel in a great location in the center of Newcastle, U.K. Clean bathrooms. Shared rooms had card key locks on door which strengthened security. Albatross could not be more centrally located to bars, restaurants and attactions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    58
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
5
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very basic hostel. Also very noisy with drunks coming in and waking everyone up. Staff did little to deal with or even acknowledge this as a problem. Bathrooms not particularly clean, showers not even hot. Toilets miles away. Would not recommend.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here recently on a Saturday night. Great staff very friendly and informative. The hostel was clean and tidy with a kitchen area with free tea coffee and toast which was a nice touch. The room was fine nice clean beds. The only downside is it is impossible to get any sleep. The reception is situated at the bottom of the stairs so all the noise carries up. I was well aware that I was in Newcastle on a Saturday night so i was prepared for some noise but it was really bad. I was talking to a group of ladies from Glasgow and the night before had been bad as well for noise. More should be done by the staff to keep the noise down. Maybe close the kitchen and sitting areas after 12pm .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just stayed here for a night out with friends. Ideal location - right in the centre of town and a 2 minute walk from the train station and minutes walk from popular night hotspots like The Gate, the Diamond Strip, Bijoux, Perdu etc.

Beds are comfortable and they have a huge variety of different sized dorms available. Toilets and showers are clean. The only issue with the rooms are the thin walls...but that's probably worse for those not going on a night out, and the fact that there is no mirror.

The living room/lounge and kitchen area is great and they have free internet use. There is also a basement area with a pool table and plenty space for pre-drinks!

Liked the place so much we're going back again next month! Highly recommended for traellers or party go-ers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great spot, right in the middle of everything,walking distance to the train staion which it only 2 minutes away and more importantly just 2 minutes around the corner from The Gate, good spot will be back at some stage.Shopping areas are also walking distance from the hostel, and so is St James's Park for anyone looking to go to Newcastle Utd games

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanc619619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here as part of a 30/40 something crowd of guys in Newcastle for a stag weekend and was somewhat apprehensive after finding out that six of us would be sharing a room. This apprehension seemed warranted when we got to our room. Approximately 20 feet by 15 feet, the only contents were three bunk beds and a bin. However, the room, while spartan, was clean, the beds were comfortable, and there was just enough room for us to get dressed etc. The communal toilets/showers were across the landing and were relatively clean given the carnage they must endure - the main custom appears to be from similar (though younger) same sex crowds who come and go at all hours (the best time to get a shower is anytime before noon). Not the place for a romantic break but ideal if you're with a bunch of pals and all you need is a place to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: While I didn't mind sharing a room with people I know, not sure there is sufficient privacy to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givemylovetokevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with a group of friends on a stag weekend over the weekend of Friday 15-Feb to Sunday 17-Feb 2013.

On arrival the group were taken into the lounge where the chap from reception laid down the rules about what we were and weren't allowed to do in our rooms. Reasonable enough - no smoking in the rooms, don't bring people back at night that aren't registered guests etc. We were allocated 3 rooms on the 3rd floor of the hostel and were advised that the toilet and shower facilities were based on the 2nd floor - not ideal but fine for a 2-night stay. Each of us paid a £25 bond for the room, and £5 for the room key (we had 1 room key per person).

The rooms were fine - 5 sets of bunk beds in mine, with a fireplace, bin, a light, and a few hooks to hang clothes & jackets on.

We could come and go as we pleased - the room keys also worked for the front door - and the reception staff were pleasant enough and happy to answer any questions we had, however random.

Absolutely no problems throughout the stay - would use the hostel again if in town for a night or two - the location is excellent with regards to the main pubs, clubs etc and the train station is just down the street.

Room Tip: If you're likely to need to get up for the loo during the night you'd be better requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Hostel

Property: Albatross Hostel
Address: 51 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albatross Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albatross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacers In! Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing