We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst gig ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of O2 Academy

O2 Academy
2 reviews
“Worst gig ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to see newton faulkner live. Terrible gig through no fault of his own. The Sound was terrible and really quiet. Staff where very rude also. Will be avoiding going again unless I have to.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    17
    14
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Super good venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hello readers. I attended a rock gig here on Dec 9. Papa Roach.....beastly rockers from California. The venue was average sized but vey good. Circle downstairs and seated balcony upstairs. The security staff was very good and kept an eye on everything. I am not young anymore to be in the moshpit. So balcony for me. Brilliant acoustics and lighting. The bar was quite expensive...but you are there to enjoy. So never mind. Pics attached.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravikumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Saw a gig here recently. Walking distance from the train station. Enough bars so that the queues weren't lengthy. Staff friendly and overall, we had a great night watching quality live music. Ticket prices we reasonable, my only gripe would be the high cost of drinks. Other than that, very good. Cheers

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank redripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good venue, but been in better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nothing over-the-top wow about the Academy.

Not a huge Academy compared to other across the country. Has two rooms, Academy 1 (the big, main room) and Academy 2 (the little one upstairs).

Been to countless gigs in both rooms. The smaller room upstairs has a fantastic atmosphere if you're near the front, however the atmosphere is sort of lost a bit in the larger room. I guess it depends on the band and where you're stood.

Drinks are insanely expensive, but that's expected.

Can never really move in the larger room towards the back where merchandise is sold, think it's a bit of a silly place.

However, it is good that there is 3 bars in the larger room but again, the 2 on the floor are just in really silly places.

Also good that all doors are opened at the end of the show, allows you to get out quickly.

The sound and view is always reasonable at the Academy. Never had much of a problem with any of the staff there. Been going there since I was in my teens.

Toilets are good for a gig venue. Plenty of cubicles and all are clean. Change the taps/sinks though. Can't use them without being soaked!!!!

Would recommend a visit but there's better Academy's in the country.

Also much preferred it when it was the Carling Academy, gone down hill since O2 took over unfortunately.

My most recent visit was to see Jimmy Eat World.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beffsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great venue but can sometimes get a little claustrophobic the price of the drink's could be better because they are very expensive but you can get free cups of water at any time during any show from the nearest bar to you. The ticket price's are reasonable you get what you pay for some example's of bands Iv'e been to see are Issues,Crown the empire,Your demise, All time low.
I would recommend this venue to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank justin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 Academy also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to O2 Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing