We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best turkish restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turquoise Newcastle - CLOSED

Turquoise Newcastle
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best turkish restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

i have been this restaurant on sturday. i ordered lahmacun and chicken liver for starter was yummy and lamb sawarma for main meal was delicious as weel.nice modern decor comfotable seats.good service nice atmospher i would recomend everyone. this new restaurant i thing gonna be in top 10 restaurant in newcastle

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emır K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious and generous portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I took my mum here with a groupon voucher. We are regulars of their sister restaurant red mezze.

We had the platter to share and a bottle of pinot grigio for £20 with the groupon voucher. There was so much food, it was delicious and we couldn't finish it all. They offered to wrap it up but we were going to the theatre so didn't want to carry it around. They also brought tasty little syrup cakes for us.

We will definitely be back.

The only slight complaint was the waitress smelled of cigarette smoke which was a little off putting when serving our food.

Helpful?
1 Thank LandD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“what an amazing night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I visited Turquoise last night with 7 female friends. Fab food, great service, lots of freebies, we had a mixture of all the starters, can recommend the chicken livers, The lamb shawarma was the best I have ever tasted, served with salad and Turkish rice.Free bread, and lots of other extras that were a lovely surprise. will certainly be going back again, Thank you for a great night Turquoise..........

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bev123015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Turkish feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

5 of us arrived to a warm welcome from our lovely waitress on Sunday evening! We had ordered 2 of the mix grill platters for 2 and a bottle of wine from groupon! We were informed that we could have any wine off the menu (small wine menu mind)! One bottle of Pinot Grigio and a bottle of house red, both top draw wines!

As there was 5 of us sharing meat platters that were meant for 4 we also ordered a 'jumbo mixed mezze' to start! The starter was a beautiful combination of marinated olives, dips, hummus and some pastry things too! All amazing and scooped up with warm home made bread!

For main our waitress brought us 2 massive mounds of various meats on top of 2 varieties of flavourful rice! All the meat was marinated and grilled to perfection all with authentic BBQ taste that make me presume they have a proper grill pit in the kitchen! The lamb was particularly amazing especially as I often think lamb in Turkish/Lebanese restaurants can be tough, this was the opposite of that, melt in the mouth stuff!

At the end of the meal we are brought out some Turkish cakes for free to taste, also delicious (too sweet for some of the company) meaning I got 2!

It was quite and I really hope this place starts to fill up as it really is superb ! Decor is modern and trendy!

I would recommend to all to try , you won't be disappointed !

Helpful?
4 Thank GeordieMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing new Restaurant in Newcastle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Newly open turkish restaurant offering great menu, excellent food and pleasant service in great location.
Shawarma ( chicken and lamb), mezzes, BBQ that tastes just great! Freshly baked bread it's to die for.
Finish with freshly made kunefe, a perfect and delicious dessert!
A big bonus for Newcastle!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Redmezze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turquoise Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing