We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Seven Stories - The National Centre for Children's Books
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I wish this place had been around when my kids were little! I took my nieces for a birthday treat - its not cheap, but then you can expect that level of service, knowledge and enthusiasm for peanuts. One of the most inspiring places I have ever been, not just for children but anyone!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValerieEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    27
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place for children and those who just havent grown up. Inspiring and stimulating for young and older alike!

Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Seven Stories with no children in tow, and stayed for three hours! It is a wonderful place full of creativity and inspiration as well as memories and nostalgia. The story-telling chair and dressing up clothes on the top floor made me wish we had lived near somewhere like this when our children were little, and we loved the informative exhibitions on the work of the authors of The Gruffalo and How to Train Your Dragon. The archives were really interesting and we stayed for a good lunch before leaving to drive back down south.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Logo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for children!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My 5 year old daughter loves books so was in her element when we arrived here. She really enjoyed listening to different stories and I enjoyed doing something different with her. I would defo recommend to anyone with kids who enjoy the journey of a good book.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerryanne-purchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for keen young readers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely building, thoughtful exhibitions with activities and dressing up for kids, Tasty food in the cafe. Outstanding book/gift shop. Brilliant story teller.
Only gripe is the price, but we did spend a long time there. We used the quaylink bus to get there which was very convenient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stories - The National Centre for Children's Books also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Seven Stories - The National Centre for Children's Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing