We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you like being treated like royalty please visit this hotel,from walking into their front reception you are treated like a celebrity.food, and rooms excellent, bit pricey but well worth it, no football shirts or trainers wonderfull.

Room Tip: they are all wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    161
    22
    16
    8
See reviews for
165
450
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our thanks to an amazingly organised and friendly team for ensuring a family birthday lunch was an outstanding success. We had a family group of various ages and booked the Frank Rich room for Sunday lunch. The service (thank you Clement!) was exceptionally professional, the food outstanding and the atmosphere relaxed. The front of house team at reception could not have been more helpful and welcoming and Abi (Events Co-ordinator) was just brilliant. The next time we visit Newcastle we will definitely be staying at Jesmond Dene House..can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After having our civil partnership celebrations here last year but not staying overnight, we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend stay for our first anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a better place to be! All of the staff were very helpful, friendly but not overly intrusive. We had been upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe (room 3) which was tasteful decorated and sumptuously fitted out as well as very clean. The bed was a super-king and very comfortable. There was a large sitting area with a view out over Jesmond Dene. The bathroom was huge with a very large bath, powerful separate shower and underfloor heating. Small touches like a bowl of interesting fruit, decent magazines and the excellent range of toiletries were very welcome. When it came to sleeping, the room was very quiet with just the hint of the river bubbling away down below.
The highlight for us was the breakfast, which was served in a garden room with an extensive continental buffet (even whole poached pears on offer) and cooked breakfast ordered and served to the table, including our favourite dish of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on brioche. This was beautifully presented, hot and delicious. We had dinner on one evening and started in the "Billiards" room (no billiards but oak panelled, comfy chairs and a large open fire) for a glass of wine pre-dinner. This was a great room to relax in and had we a little more time it would have been pleasant to sit here during the day. Then we went through to the main restaurant which looked busy but didn't feel that way. The menu had some interesting choices and my vegetarian partner didn't have a problem finding something to suit his taste. The food was, once again beautifully presented and delicious. Service throughout the evening was impeccable and to top it off, we were bought a slate carrying petit-fours and an icing "Happy Anniversary".
Two tiny gripes:
1. When we initially booked, we had checked on the website first and had seen that rooms were available but rang to actually book the room, at which point we were told they were fully booked. After hanging up and re-checking, we then rang back and were told there had been a mistake and there were rooms available (phew!).
2. One of the light bulbs in the bathroom was flickering, so we reported this to reception on the first morning and were assured it would be looked into immediately. It still hadn't been replaced when we left at midday the following day. It hadn't bothered us, so we hadn't bothered to chase it up, but perhaps this didn't match the rest of the excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 3 (deluxe) was quiet, with a good view and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris508186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here at the tail end of 2012 with my two boys for a family wedding. Although pricey - and the bar was touching on London prices - we had a very enjoyable stay. We had a superior room which was very spacious and well appointed and the hotel was full of character with helpful staff.

As a wedding reception venue their main hall with minstrels gallery was superb, and the food was excellent. The location is easy to find although not in the city center and there are some lovely walks nearby

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clutz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay over 3 nights on a business trip to Newcastle. Staff were excellent, food and bar very nice and rooms warm and cozy in mid winter. As an old estate the property and grounds have so much character.
Would like a gym, otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a long days travel through snowstorms our travelling party was unable to find accommodation in Newcastle, whilst Jesmond Dene House was unable to accommodate us, the staff went out of their way to assist my family and I by contacting other hotels in the area on our behalf. We were so very grateful for their help and can only assume that staying at Jesmond Dene House must be a wonderful experience. Once again our thanks to the staff at Jesmond Dene House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
416 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,082 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I don't stay in Newcastle City Centre hotels......far too noisy. For the past 20 or so years, when visiting Newcastle I used to stay at the Gosforth Park Hotel even though it is geographically unsuitable. It's now rather dated and I particularly dislike their breakfast service. As a result, I have not looked forward to a hotel stay in Newcastle for some time......until I discovered Jesmond Dene House.

I've just thoroughly enjoyed another stay at this lovely hotel and I'm looking forward to future visits later this year. Firstly, it feels homely. Secondly, the attention to detail is right up there with the best hotels in the USA. Lovely tea and coffee in the rooms (missing from both Beverly Hills Hotel and Wynn in Las Vegas where I was staying for past two weeks)....slippers/dressing gown (missing from most other Newcastle hotels); really strong shower (rare to find them as good as this); my favourite PURE bedside digital radio always set to Jazz FM on arrival; unfussy TV's that work; very comfortable beds; quality furniture; all the bathroom extras one needs; even the shoe polish kit works well. I could go on.....this hotel makes sure their guests have everything a guest may need and nothing is missed out.

What I most appreciate about Jesmond Dene House are the staff at every level from reception staff (who really are the best anywhere) to housekeping. In a world of mediocrity, this hotel get it right in every department. The entire place is spotless. In winter it is lovely and warm, welcoming, comfortable and even cosy in public areas. Breakfast is a delight, served in a lovely room. I specially like the fact that everything is freshly cooked to order and everything is cooked perfectly.....an ideal venue to start off the day with a breakfast meeting where you can request a quiet table away from the others.

The car park is spacious and safe....taxi's when ordered by reception arrive quickly. Why be in a noisy city centre hotel when you can stay here and feel you are on holiday?

This visit I stayed in their new building and it was absolutely perfect. Lunch in the hotel restaurant was very good indeed and service was quick......in and out in 40 minutes when I told them I only had limited time. The bar, in front of the fire, is one of my favourite places in which to relax and read of of the newspapers spread about.....perhaps next visit the weather will be suitable for a stroll in the hotel's sensational back garden......the exceptional Jesmond Dene.

I stay in rather a lot of hotels and Jesmond Dene House is one of my favourites. Such hotels are always one-offs and family owned...where the proprietor clearly cares far more about providing perfection for guests than profits...and it shows. If guests are always happy, then financial success will surely follow. I particularly liked the response of a young waitress at lunch when, in an answer to a request answered, "Of course we can...this IS Jesmond Dene House." She was proud to be working as part of the team and it is a terrific team. The fact is that this hotel may only be listed 3rd best on Tripadviser however the first two listed are different products altogether.....one of them are in fact "suites" and the other appears to be serviced apartments......Jesmond Dene House is a luxary, full service country house hotel in a quiet yet fantastic location, close to the city centre with great food, wonderful staff and a warm welcome. It makes visiting Newcastle a lovely experience....every city should have one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing