We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Christmas Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Christmas 2012 break while visiting relatives in Newcastle. The standard of the rooms was excellent! The beds were enormous and very comfy and the food was lovely.

For various reasons we had to change our booking (nothing relating to the hotel) and we could not have the same room on both nights. The first night we stayed in room 11 which was a little small but had a HUGE roof terrace and had we stayed there over the summer, it would have been amazing! In this room we had just shower facilities. I would have preferred a bath as well, to relax in but the shower room in this case was ok. Minor issues with the room was dealt with promptly

The second night we stayed in room 4. This room appeared a lot bigger and the bathroom was a lot nicer in this room.

Staff were friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the foods and wines. We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back to this hotel!! I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    169
    24
    18
    6
See reviews for
171
463
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This is one of several afternoon tea trips I have had to Jesmond Dene House and it was excellent . The cakes were amazing the best being a choux bun filled with a baileys Irish cream and dripping in chocolate . Delicious .
There was also a lovely frangipan tartlet and fruit cake . The tea kept flowing and we were offered a choice from breakfast tea to more exotic blends. We were not rushed and just left to enjoy the afternoon.
I would recommend booking as it seemed busy but that is a good sign . Great experience

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The air was pungent with the smell of pine.Wood crackled on the open fire. The bubbles in the champagne twinkled like fairy lights. Christmas carols played softly in the background. Such a wonderful setting for our Christmas day lunch at Jesmond Dene House.
The food was exquisite!! I have eaten at some ‘fancy’ hotels around the world. This meal was one of the best I have eaten. Congratulations to all of the staff!! I can’t wait to book for next year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUSINESS007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This venue is my favourite place to eat, drink and stay in the North East. I've dined many times and even been lucky enough to stay over on a few occasions and the food is always superb and the accommodation never fails to please. Had an amazing Christmas party night last week with a group of friends and we had a wonderful festive evening in the amazing Great Hall of the hotel. Our night was topped off with an overnight stay in fantastic accommodation with THE most fab breakfast the next morning. Needless to say, we'll all be returning to enjoy this great hotel soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyne&Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here on 21st Dec to attend a Christmas Party night with friends. The hotel itself is beautiful - cosy, welcoming and intimate. The food during both the party night and breakfast the following morning was delicious and beautifully presented. And finally our room - what can I say but that it was fab and it was just a shame that we didn't get to spend longer in it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverlbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed with my husband and daughter at Jesmond Dene House Hotel in November. A special treat for my daughter's birthday.
We chose the tasting menu together with tasting wines.... we were treated like royalty, and ate like kings.
All the members of staff were so friendly and helpful.
The atmosphere for such a large hotel was cosy and intimate. Our room (in the new block) was absolutely luxurious.
The breakfast, was absolutely the best I've ever had at a hotel - if you visit, I hope they have their own honeycomb on the menu, it is fabulous!
If you have deep pockets, or have saved for a very special treat, you'll not be disappointed at Jesmond Dene.

Room Tip: We actually stayed two nights, checking out - then checking back in again. We stayed on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I grew up with Jesmond Dene and the parks as my childhood playground, it's not often I visit the 'Toon' these days therefor when I had the chance to spend a few days there recently I simply had to book this hotel which is just off the woodland paths of the amazing Dene.

Scott and his team go a long way to ensure that your stay is both trouble free and relaxing. I was gifted a suite for two nights and it was spacious and luxurious. Very warm, but with adjustable heating controls and windows which open. Good bathroom, with underfloor heating. Would have loved a bath (but reckon I was spoiled enough).

Service is typically Northern, warm, genuine and friendly (makes me proud to be a Geordie). Breakfast was good, really loved that they cooked fresh plum tomatoes and left the canned alone. It's a large enough breakfast to set anyone up for the day.

I dined in the restaurant on my first evening. Unobtrusive, yet attentive service, and delightful selection of fare. Truly enjoyed the scallops and the duck, and had no room for dessert. Wish I'd left room to try the cheese selection which appeared in a huge glass trolley and contained some real beauties.

Overall I highly recommend the venue, it's not far from the town centre (10 mins by taxi), but far enough away to make you feel you've been transported into the countryside. Great for walks, drinks by the fire and a bit of spoiling yourself.

Room Tip: Suites are comfy and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing