We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Meal and Evening Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Meal and Evening Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just wanted to say many thanks to the staff at Jesmond Dene House for a wonderful meal experience last night.

We had a very enjoyable evening - the staff were very frendly, the service was excellent and the food and drinks great as well.

We had a good laugh and the atmosphere was perfect.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    189
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
211
528
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

There are not enough superlatives to describe this hidden gem. Whilst it initially seems tucked away it really is only a short car ride from either Newcastle Airport ot train station.
An impresive historcal building from the outside, the inside was equally as stunning. Decor was stylish without being plain or dull. The occasional quirky touch adding to the overal experience. Service was beyond brilliant. Helpful, friendly, you never feel this is "just a job".
Rooms were all individaul. Mine being cosy and comforting but with all of the expected mod cons. A bath big enough for two and a shower so powerful I didn't want to leave.
Last but definitely not the least, the food. we ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and could find no fault with anything. Everything was freshly prepared and cooked, and of course a pleasure to eat..........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Situated down in a rather dark dell in Jesmond this large house sits brooding amidst the trees, but within all is comfort, service & style. Car parking is plentiful. Check in friendly and efficient. My room was an inventive conversion in the eaves but rather steep in price I felt at £200 per night without breakfast. There was no corkscrew (previous guests stole it no doubt) but following my call one appeared within 5 minutes. Housekeeping issues (horrible bed linen and a badly made bed) were sorted out swiftly by the pleasant lady in charge of that department. Staff appear to be plentiful and service in the bar and restaurant were good.
In spite of its location outside Newcastle city centre this hotel is vibrant and clearly popular with people in the area. I enjoyed the cheerful, busy atmosphere & the feeling of being where its at. Blissfully, weddings are kept pretty separate in a large adjacent area of what is a very large house.
One long hallway funnels all guests to their rooms with dining room on one side & kitchen on the other. This leads to one feeling like a hedgehog crossing the M1 as one tries to advance towards the lift avoiding the bustle of waiters with precariously piled large trays of food criss-crossing this hall.
Best bit was breakfast which I have never enjoyed more.. It cost me £16 per day but was certainly worth it. Delicious gravadlax and salamis are on offer along with everything else one could desire followed by the best ever bacon and eggs. I doubt this breakfast will ever be bettered in my travels.
One disappointment for me was the garden which was small for a house of the size and rather wild and unkempt looking. Just not what I expected really but I didn't go there for the garden.
I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Although its probably nicer to face the garden, this garden is not a thing of beauty so it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently enjoyed a family break at Jesmond Dene Hotel. The staff, rooms and restaurant were all excellent. Attention to detail and handeling of any request was done really well. Would definately return and recommend this independedent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What an outstanding stay my wife & I had here. A beautiful hotel, fantastic location, warm staff and a relaxing stay.
Our room was everything you could ask for.
Food here was of the highest standard we have experienced for some time.
Our intention is to visit again in the Spring to explore Jesmond Dene to it's fullest.

Room Tip: A taxi ride from the station was good value at £6.20 on Saturday & £8.60 on Sunday return Tkae...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshireterrier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have student offspring at Newcastle University and on my last two trips to visit from Surrey have stayed at the Jesmond Dene House Hotel. From my first contacts in booking rooms, through to finally checking out, my impressions of the staff have been, without exception, positive; all members are professional, warm and friendly, and enthusiastic about responding to any request or query. The hotel is perfectly located - it is easy to find and offers decent parking. The building is extremely attractive and full of character, and the rooms are well-equipped, comfortable and clean. After long drives up from the south I have chosen to eat in my room in the evenings and on both stays have had quite exceptional meals, beautifully prepared and cooked, and served with excellent wine from a first-rate list. Room service in hotels so often comes a very poor second to the restaurant, but here great care is taken to maintain an impressively high standard of cooking and service. It would not occur to me now to stay at another hotel in Newcastle and I have no hesitation in recommending Jesmond Dene House for a friendliness and ambience which is firmly underpinned by high standards of professionalism.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CGK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I organised a trip to Newcastle for a client of mine. Our group was 24 in total and the service and experience we had at Jesmond Dene was second to none. The Rooms which are all unique are fitted out superbly and the attention to detail in the decor was fantastic. All this combined with the attentiveness of all the staff made it a weekend to remember for me and all of my guests. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing