We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy boutique hotel, lovely grounds.”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cosy boutique hotel, lovely grounds.”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

An ideal hotel for a wedding, picture on a plate food, not a lot but very tasty. Staff a bit stand offish other than the reception, who were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast pretty good but not outstanding. One downside was no draught beer, bottled beer overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    190
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
211
530
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
necastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel and great location in the wooded surroundings of Jesmond Dene just outside the city centre. Great service and stylish decor. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Food is simply superb! The Cellar is also brilliant. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. I love being out of the City center but only a short taxi ride into the bustling center of Newcastle. Not cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay, so good we didn't leave the hotel for 17hrs!
Food, Excellent - Service, Excellent - Bedrooms, Excellent - Value for Money, Excellent! I honestly cannot fault this hotel & would strongly recommend to anyone.
We will now be visiting Newcastle & staying here everytime!
Great Place! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edawes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel atmosphere is fantastic, from the welcome at reception, the fantastic selection of wine by the glass, i asked for a oaked chardonnay, and they had one.
The food is first class, out of this world. The room was clean, superb bathroom, and fresh fruit in the room. A personal welcome card. This does not get better, oh yes the breakfast is to die for, smoked salmon was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Spent one night here on a touring holiday, and had a great stay.
Our room was top quality: beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, a top notch bathroom, mini bar and french doors on to our own balcony.
This is a great hotel and if you are looking for a comfortable stay with excellent customer service then I would highly recommend the Jesmond Dene.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was very enjoyable too, pudding being the highlight.
Overall, a great place for a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traffic-cone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here over a year ago. I was visiting family close by and we decided to get a night away without kids. It's a beautiful location -in the Dene - is a lovely old building and has been carefully converted into a very nice country hotel BUT- the room was ridiculously tiny and felt like an oven the night we stayed there. Not sure if they have added AC but I would not stay there in the summer if they have not. IT was really uncomfortable. The restaurant manager at the time was charming and helpful but the rest of the brunch service was a disaster. No one approached us to give us menus or information on the brunch - which was set up in the adjoining room. We sat forever before I had to flag someone down. Kind of stressful -not relaxing. We are used to at a broad range of lodgings -from camping to 5 star and are very open minded when travelling. A good nights sleep is at the top of the list and we did not get that here.

Room Tip: Beware staying on a hot night. If you must then avoid attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing