We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room was a bit on the small side but ideal for what we needed it for (had a 5 bed room with en-suite - 2 sets of bunk beds, 1 with a double on the bottom, the other a single). Both the room and en-suite (wet room) were clean.

Literally a five minute walk into town for the bars, restaurants and shops. We parked in the NCP car park round the corner on Carloil Street and only paid £5 for 24 hours parking as guests of the hostel.

Had the free continental breakfast the next morning, there wasn't a lot of choice really, toast, yoghurts, fruit or cereal but can't complain considering we didn't pay for it, could have upgraded to the fry up (which looked great) for £4.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - booking taxis, advising where to go for night out etc.

Room Tip: I'd advise taking an extension plug as there were only two plug sockets in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dashlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Dashlette

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will see you again in the very near future.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

You can sometimes learn a lot from other reviews, even negative ones.
At time of me writing this, the 'complain' pile is headed by someone who complained about being chucked out for being disruptive and noisy.
Good for the management.
If you look just bellow their complaint, you will see another from someone who had to suffer the above idiots.
Perhaps we had a lucky two nights, but one thing that really impressed us, and in fact clinched our booking the stay was the management making it clear that drunken noisy bad behavior was not accepted. Stag/hen groups have to consult with them before bookings are accepted. There is a notice saying groups will be fined to pay compensation to the victims of such behavior. On our two nights there was some noise, but, hey, this is a hostel, not a high star hotel, and even the doors banging was at an acceptable level.
.
We enjoyed our stay. The place is not perfect.. some other reviewers comments have validity.
- The rooms are small and the walls not overly sound proof.
-Stairwell doors do bang
- Other guests can be noisy - we had a little disturbance, but nothing to warrant a complaint.
- The breakfast could be better. Tinned grapefruit would make a world of difference, and those rotary toast machines cause no end of bottle necks, - but overall it was.. OK.
Certainly the catering area and service was very clean, and well looked after

BUT.. for the price and location, you can accept the above as part of the deal, and i certainly would stay there again. The good points;

Everything was totally clean and well maintained.
Staff were informative, friendly and helpful.
Management obviously did ;'give a damn' about our comfort and enjoyment.
Superb location.

Thank you staff, well done.

By the way, I manage a Youth Hostel myself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hello Ray M

Thanks very much for your comments and feedback on your recent stay in Newcastle with Euro Hostel.

Your comments were very much appreciated and I have ensured that all the team have been made aware.

Thanks as well for your suggestions on improving our standards of service. We appreciate all feedback on our performance/.

I do hope you will come and see us again soon. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just wanted to write a short piece to say how very impressed we were with the pleasant and helpful staff and the quality of the hostel. It was clean, friendly and provided everything we were after. Many, many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello Sweatmans

Thanks for your review on Euro Hostel Newcastle following your recent Stag Party.

I was delighted that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us and the team looked after your group during your time with us.

Thanks again for your comments and i hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a nice stay this month in Euro Hostel in New Castle with a couple of friends. Prior to that we were in the Euro hostel in Glasgow and we were very pleased by our stay there as well. We had high hopes for this Euro hostel as well, and it did not let us down. Since it is New Castle we are talking about, the night life and all that jazz (it was also weekend) we were kind of scared it will be noisy during the nigh time, but to our surprise it wasn't. The hostel was quite during the night and busy and lively during the day. They have an amazing self catering kitchen, newly furbished rooms with TV. The only thing is the bathroom. It looked like a closet (in a 5 bed room). It was tiny and airplane like, plastic on the inside and all Narnia closet on the outside (it really is not bigger on the inside).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello Wanderer2702

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

The team and I were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly as you had enjoyed staying with our sister site at Glasgow.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope you will come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hostel has a great location, just 15min walk from the train station and 15mins from the quayside where the millenium bridge crosses over to the baltic flour mill art centre and where river escapes boat tours leave from. Good if your driving because its just a few minutes after the Tyne bridge so you dont have to deal with driving through the centre of newcastle, there is an NCP car park around the corner and you get a voucher towards the price (it was £11.40 for 24 hours) when you stay in the hostel. Most of the residences were, like ourselves, there to sample the famous Geordie nightlife, which far exceeded our expectations. The hostel sells wristbands which get you discounted food drink and entry to local clubs and bars. Theres a really cool beanie room where people can hang out. Would say to opt for a private room if you are loooking to stay on a weekend and arent planning on going out. While we thought the banter in the rooms was great before going out I can imagine it would be a bit frustrating if you were wanting to get an early night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdavis1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello cdavis 1992

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review on your stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

The team and I were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hostel and its location very much to your liking.

I do hope you will come and see us again in the very near future.

Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After reading mixed reviews on this place I didn't really know what to expect. After taking about 3 wrong turns (I'd recommend taking a GPS) we eventually saw the purple banners and were pleasantly surprised with how central the place is - literally a 10 minute walk to the train station and even less to the city centre shops. Upon arrival the reception was really modern and clean with a really secure building. Check in staff were absolutely lovely even when we were all a bit ditsy after travelling all day. Found our rooms and another happy surprise came in the form of a TV and enough mirrors for 5 teenage girls to get ready relatively easily. The room seemed fine at first but upon closer inspection there was a lot of dust and grime in the less obvious places and even some blood on the walls and one of the switches - ugh. After spending some time getting sorted and noting damages that were in the room to reception - again staff were completely lovely and helpful we decided to go out. You have to take your key card to get back into the building after 11 which is really good, although a bit confusing after a few drinks when trying to find the bloody thing. Beds were comfier than expected and breakfast, though simple, was another success. Overall we all decided we'd come again, if only because of how nice everyone is. The guests were all really friendly and staff were exemplary,

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello Kate L

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was pleased to note that your group enjoyed their stay with us and I was delighted by your comments on the team at Euro Hostel Newcastle, and how well they looked after you.

We will of course investigate your observations regarding the cleanliness issues in the bedroom and take appropriate action to bring these back to our usual high standards.

I hope you will notice the improvement on your next stay with us!

Thanks once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had never stayed in a hostel before but decided to try it when in Newcastle as a family for a uni open day. I was very pleasantly surprised - the place was clean, comfortable, right in the centre of town and miles cheaper than a hotel. We had a private en suite room and it was all we needed - bunk beds, shower room and breakfast in the mornings. I was told that it can get busy and noisy at popular times but for us it was ideal. I would definitely recommend if you are a hostel novice like me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello Swarks

Many thanks for taking the time to provide Tripadvisor with a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

The team and I were delighted to read your comments and that you enjoy your stay with us.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment and we hope you will come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $21 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing