We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel, only one quick advice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Germany
1 review
“good hostel, only one quick advice”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here at the hostel. It's a big place with loads of nice people to talk to or have a pint with. The staff is really nice and helpful and there is a car park for 5,50/24hrs only down the street.
The only advice I have for you is that if you get a room without a window (104 for example), especially in the summertime, ask for another one. There is no air-conditioning or vents in the rooms which let you close to suffocating ;) Just ask for another room and you'll have a great stay at this hostel! Enjoy...

Room Tip: do not take room 104!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr X

Thank you for reviewing Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to note that, on the whole, you seemed to have enjoyed your time here.

Thank you for your feedback on the accommodation and I will certainly look to make improvements on the points you have raised.

Thank you again for your time and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    76
    44
    53
See reviews for
31
34
64
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looked great. the staff were very helpful and polite which is a good sign. The rooms are basic with a toilet and a shower room (this might not be the same in every room).The shower was very poor, it could need either sorted because it was not functioning correctly or being replaced in whole. Then a handle was missing off the toilet door, the maintenace man came and he just pushed it on and said that was the best he could do but the handle was still loose. The handles on both shower and toilet doors were very loose which need to be secured right otherwise someone could get stuck. The beds were basic, matresses very lumpy and uncomfortable. The rooms could do with a bit of TLC. There is alot of stag and hen do's so it could be a very noisy place if you want peace and quiet. The breakfast available is very basic cereal, toast with tea,coffee, juice. The Bar linked to the hotel serves numerouse beverages and there is tv's showing either sport or the news also a pool table. Location of the hotel is very central so getting around the city centre is no problem, 5-10mins walk max to any of the numerous bars and restaurants in Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_MP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello Robin_MP23

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was pleased to note that you appeared to enjoy your stay as a whole but had a few recommendations for us regarding maintenance of the rooms.

Thank you for this feedback and you can rest assured corrective action has already begun on various projects within the hostel.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you again to Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean and quiet room.
Friendly staff.
Cool chill out room.
Cool bar downstairs.
Cool location.
Standard breakfast of cereals and toasts.
No doubts the hostel is worth of the money paid.
We staid at 6 bed dorm - the room was quite tight but more or less enough. I was happy to see toilet and shower in our room - much better than common shower in a corridor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello Kalinich

Many thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle during your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you appeared to enjoy your time with us and that you seemed to enjoy every aspect of your stay.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First impressions of the place were poor. We arrived with all of our luggage, and went to check in, but the girl at the desk didn't accept fifty pound notes (We all had fifties and no change). She advised us to go to a bank and change these, which was fine, but she wouldn't accept our bags and we had to carry them around for an hour while we found somewhere that would change fifty pound notes.

After that we had no problems. We drank in the bedroom and the common room and the staff didn't mind, even the barman gave us a bucket of ice one night for our rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were warm. The hostel was also quite cheap and the facilities were grand. A good place to go for young people and students.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Chris M

Thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel for tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to note you enjoyed your time with us at the hostel and found our team to be hospitable and friendly.

Unfortunately we have been advised by the local bank not to accept £50 notes owing to a flood of forgeries in the local area however there are a number of banks within five minutes of the hostel that could change the notes into smaller denominations.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel: Euro Hostel, Newcastle
On the 15th of January me and 7 other friends went to Newcastle for 4 days. We stayed in Euro Hostels. We arrived at the hostel at 12 and we could only check in at 3 but when we arrived they said we would be allowed check in early free of charge. I had to sign off a few documents and then we all got our keys for the room. The hostel was very safe. You could only get into the lift if you had a key card so this made us feel better knowing random people couldn’t just walk in. After a day of looking around the shops we had dinner in the hostel. We all ordered different food. The food was cheap and was very nice and well laid out. The next morning we went down to get our breakfast and realised that the hostel only served toast. We thought that that wasn’t good and it was a let-down so we had to go find somewhere else to eat. The rest of the stay was up to standard. It was a very nice stay and I would go back to Euro Hostel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Emma D

Thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

It was fantastic to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and you found the hostel and the team to your liking.

Regarding our continental breakfast offering, there is a full continental range to go with the toast including tea, coffee, orange and apple juice, a minimum of three types of cereal, fruit salad, natural yoghurt as well as a selection of preserves to accompany your toast. All of which are complimentary and residents are encouraged to return to the buffet as much as they want.

Thanks again for your comments. We value all feedback from our guests and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I am just back from a 2 night stay in the euro hostel. I was in a group of 8 and we honestly couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The location was PERFECT for everything..restaurants, clubs, shopping etc. The staff were so nice and helped with any query we had. The room was a little cramped but it was clean, modern and comfortable so we didn't mind at all. Newcastle is an incredible city and we all hope to go back again soon and will 100% stay in the euro hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D4dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello D4dolly

Thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your comments on the hostel and the team and the fact that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hostel on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and a group of friends booked two rooms for two nights and it was our first visit to the city.

Pros:
Easy to find the hostel and it's in a central location
Good lively bar
Helpful and friendly staff
Clean room
Cheap

Cons:
Room was small and very warm
Bathroom was small
Key card for the room didn't work so staff had to let us in to the room
Noisy guests and housekeeping

Overall, it was fine for what it was and good enough value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Rokan72

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

Overall it appears you seem to enjoy your stay with us but I appreciate that there were a couple of points that concerned you which we will of course investigate and correct these at the first availability.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Property: Euro Hostel Newcastle
Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing