We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My partener and I stayed in a double room during August 2011. This accomodation was very nice. The room was modern, clean with its own toilet and shower. Breakfast is provided and was excellant. Try the Mochachino, it was delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hi Darren,

Many thanks for writing your excellent review of Euro Hostel Newcastle here on Trip Advisor.

Hope to see you again soon.

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 455 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

five girls in one room,the room had no window ! i really think it was just a cupboard were they stuck 2 bunk beds ! it was terrible we could not breath ,no air at all ! we left at 6.30am because we could not take a second longer being there ! deffinatly will never ever be staying there again ! is it even legal not to have a window ?? almost had a panick attack ,not for the faint hearted dont care how cheap it is !!

Room Tip: ask for a window !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelly2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hi Shelly,

Thanks fort your review here on Trip Advisor. I'm really sorry that your experience in Euro Hostel Newcastle was not a good one.

We do indeed have some windowless rooms in the hostel. Some people love these rooms as they are so quiet but clearly you didn't. I haven't been able to establish whether you were offered an alternative room or whether this was possible on the night as the hostel may well have been fully booked. Would you be kind enough to get in touch with your contact details so that I can try to correct your bad impression of the hostel?

Kind regards

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Nice and clean, good location and cheap. And.... a great bar :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvoWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hi There,

Thanks for your great review of Euro Hostel Newcastle.

We hope to see you again soon.

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Booked out an 8 person room for a stag weekend. We werent expecting the Hilton or anything just a place to crash for the night. Thats exactly what we got. Beds were very comfortable. The room was a little cramped but like i said it was only a lace to sleep the night.

Check in was nice and simple. No issues at all. been to a lot of stag weekends where places are looking after you with an eagle eye. As i booked it i was taken aside and given a few simple rules by the person on the desk. Simply asked that we keep the noise down upon returning to the hostel as there were kids around.

Ware Rooms became our home for the weekend. Excellent bar that is reasonably priced. Would most definately stay here again given the chance.

Only one minor draw back. When we all showered on the Sunday morning the shower room started to flood. So much so that it spilled trough the door onto the carpet soaking one of our parties clothes. When i went to say to the receptionist she simply stated " yeah we know that happens quie a lot, it's a design flaw"

Apart from that minor thing excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bananaman_returns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Euro Hostel Newcastle and The Ware Rooms.

Delighted to hear you had a great weekend and that you enjoyed the bar so much you made it your home for the weekend!

In your room, the shower floor was built with a slightly inadequate "fall" and we are having this corrected in the next month. It involves quite a lot of work and in the meantime you should have been advised to wait five minutes between each person showering. I am sorry that you experienced this flood and that some of your party's clothes got wet. Please let me know when you next plan to come to one of our hostels and I will make sure you are very well looked after.

Thanks again.

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in a family room for 5 in September (we were 4). There was a bunkbed and a bunkbed with a double on the bottom & single on the top. The room was fine (we did have to make up one of the beds for the 4th person) and there were only 2 towels & it looked like someone had punched a hole in the bathroom door, but hey it is a hostel. My 2 teenage daughters loved the chill out room with an x box connect & lots of massive beanbags. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, normal cereals, bread (white & brown) to toast yourself, 2 types of juice, some fruit salad (tinned) and hot drinks from a machine & newspapers to read.You can also upgrade to a cooked breakfast for £3 the night before or on the morning each item costs £1. Because we became their friend on Facebook we got 15% off the tariff - meaning that B&B for 4 cost just £42.50/ night. Parking is just a short walk away in NCP Carliol Square (beware this shuts @ 5pm on Sunday so we couldn't get in as we arrived a few minutes after 5pm). You can park immediately outside so we just had to pay up until 6pm and then move the car in the morning to the NCP. The rate for 3pm(check in time)- 11am (check out time) is £4 and for 24hrs car parking it's £5.50

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough review here on Trip Advisor.

We're absolutely delighted you had a good time and found the hostel to be great value for money - this is our goal.

We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Thanks again.

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Nice clean room. Room was bit cramped because of the bunk beds. Toilet was clean but very little leg space for the comode. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good bar, kitchen and laundry facilities. Good if basic hot food could be included in the breakfast. I surely stay in again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyadasa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMcClelland, Managing Director at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Euro Hostel Newcastle. It's great to see you found the hostel to be good value for money and that you would stay again.

Look forward to seeing you next time you're in Newcastle.

Thanks again,

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed one night. Single room was upgraded to a family room on arrival. Quiet and comfortable room, with snug shower / toilet cubicle. Breakfast was no-nonsence, self-service. A very pleasant surprise for a hotel in Newcastle city centre, and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purry_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#37 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $21 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing