We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

I'd like to emphasise what others have said here. Everything is top class, i've just returned today from there and it's the third or fourth time i've stayed here. Hotel staff have always been genuinely friendly and helpful, not the kind of thing they learned on a customer care course, just good manners and attention to detail. I recently stayed at another establishment and payed nearly twice as much per night and got half the satisfaction. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Once you've worked out the route form the western bypass, the city centre is about ten to fifteen mins by car and about the same to the Metro Centre.

  • Liked — High standard of cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HoraceMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
110
61
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

The term "you get what you pay for" just does not apply in this case.

At this Premier Inn you get a lot more than you pay for.

In terms of service = First Class
Cleanliness = First Class
Comfort = First Class
Restauarant (neighbouring Wagon Team) = Excellent service but poor "premade, reheated, pub / restaurant chain" type food which is okayish but if you are a food lover you will be dissappointed.

I don't know how Whitbread (owners of Premier Inn) manage to get such dedicated, hard working and professional staff for the money they pay. Would love to know their secret.

Even the Housekeeping staff here will greet you with a smile and a warm "Good Morning"

Every member of staff here, with the exception of a rather offhand and unfriendly Manager/Supervisor, is polite, friendly and keen to ensure that you have a good stay.

I slept like a baby and will definately return.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Miserable Manager
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

Very warm and friendly greeting upon arrival, We arrived earlier than the 2pm checkin and Stuart the duty manager made us a cup of coffee whilst he went to see about making a room available for us.
very professional and polite, nothing seemed to much trouble,
would definately stay again,

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank LondonTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2008

Stayed in the hotel April 2008. The room was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff at reception were very helpful and could not do enough for us. There was absolutely no noise at night even with the hotel being next to the A1 there was still no noise. The restaurant next door was nice. The food was good and did not have to wait too long. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank tiniayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

On arrival, we asked for a double smoking room. There wasn't one available so the friendly lady behind the counter went and cleaned one for us.

The room was clean and pleasant and what one would expect from a budget hotel.

We had a good meal in the adjoining restaurant, which was excellent value for money.

As a business traveller, I am used to budget hotels, where the staff couldn't care less if you're pleased or not with a "It was cheap - What do you expect" type attitude, this was not the case here.

On leaving, our car Broke down. We had been stood in the car Park for 10 minutes with the AA, when a bald chap came out of the hotel and offered us all a cup of tea, which he duly delivered 5 minutes later.

Top marks and thanks to all the staff, you were wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petehmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

This hotel was originally built as a Premier Lodge and then became a Premier Travel Inn when they were taken over. It doesn't make a great deal of difference, internal decor is blue rather than the travel inn purple, but the rooms seem to have been built from the exact same design template.

It is NOT in Newcastle. It is in Gateshead, which granted, is South of Newcastle. It's a few metres off the Lobley Hill junction with the A1. There is a pub attached to the hotel by an internal walkway however there is nothing else in the immediate area as it's at one end of and industrial estate. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you wanted to go into Newcastle centre without a car, it's just too far.

The room itself was a good size but apart from the bed only had one armchair, no sofa or table. One advantage of it being an ex-Premier Lodge is the large bed, quite a bit wider than you would usually find, the price you pay is that it's also quite a bit shorter, I'm 5'8" and I only just fit, so you may have problems if you are over 6'.

TV was just the terrestrial channels plus some radio, but at least it worked! The shower was below average, not the worst I've experience but barely adequate sums it up, thankfully there is a nice large bath to make up for it.

The rear of the hotel is quite close to the A1 so you might expect a bit of traffic noise, however the A1 runs through a cutting at this point which keeps noise to a minimum however through the night I could still hear a small amount of traffic nosie, but it was nothing to stop me from sleeping. Even so I might request a room at the front of the hotel instead if I was to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

I recently stayed at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. It cetainly did not feel like budget accomodation. The rooms were spacious and inviting and were exactly what I needed for a good night's sleep. The staff were always friendly and efficient. The pub/restaurant next door was of equal standard and the 2 for 1 meals (all day every day) was an added bonus.Beautiful location as well, within easy reach of the city centre.

Helpful?
4 Thank holidaygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.3 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing