We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good - Food Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for 1 night as a quck stop over after day shopping, Excellent location for both city centre and Metro centre. Room was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. However we went for a meal about 5:30pm and ordered at the Bar. The meals arrived within 2 minutes and were pre-cooked and with cool chips. Sent chips back and waited 10 minutes for fresh chips but meat then was cold. Did not go to Breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose side away from A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerjc_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for 1 night as a qucik stop over after day shopping, Excellent location for both city centre and Metro centre. Room was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Definately will return onour next shopping visit to Newcastle!!!!! A+

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed just 1 night and can't fault this Premier Inn. The location was ideal for the Metrocentre. Parking was fine and the evening meal in the adjoining restaurant was good and reasonably priced. We found the hotel very quiet even though it was Friday night. The lady on reception was very nice and helpful. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHewitt103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you kindly for your comments during your recent stay at The Premier Inn Newcastle South.
Your comments will be passed to all the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at other hotels in this chain and they've all been very good to excellent and at a very good price.

The reception was very good and helpful and informative. The parking excellent though due to its location you have to drive to the nearest junction after exiting the A1. It is ideal for trips to Newcastle, Gateshead and the Metro Centre. Almost walking distance if you like a good walk.

Ideal for A1 travellers as you can almost see it from the road.

The views are of the industrial estate/ business park.

The bad bit was the lack of restaurant facilities on that day due to technical problems. We solved it by eating elsewhere. Fish and chips down by a beach about 20 mins away along a dual carriageway. The kitchen problems were continued into the next morning at breakfast.

Other than that very good and a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raysol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staff were fantastic - did everything that was asked of them, and all with a smile. Big Thanks go to Norrie and Julie for all their help during our stay. Would highly recommend to friends and family, and will definitely stay there again next time we are up that way!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Premier Inn Newcastle South.
You comments have been passed to the relevant team members.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Janet Jubb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Not too far from Newcastle centre. Very clean rooms. Excellent customer service from
all staff. Even received a call a few days before the visit confirming room requirements.. Would stay again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before we were not sure what to expect, however we need not have worried from booking online to checking out it couldn't have been easier. We received a phone call whilst on route to give us helpful directions for when we got there.The staff were so helpful throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble from extra pillows to giving us directions. The breakfasts were great, again nothing too much trouble and the evening meals were reasonably priced pub grub with good service. Would not hesitate in using Premier Inn again & would definately recommend Newcastle South! Thanks!

Room Tip: Good ocation for Beamish museum. Opt for a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Premier Inn newcastle South.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distanct future
Janet Jubb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ryokan Hotel
Ryokan Hotel
#38 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,135 reviews
7.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,818 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing