We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were great proving information...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The staff were great proving information on were to go and see. Stayed on a Thursday and Friday and there was little noise. Stayed on 4th floor room near a lift thought there would be a fair bit of noise nothing

Only thing is the parking is extra and trying to find directions on tom Tom is difficult sends you down a no entry road!!!

Overall very good will stay there again and recommended to friend and family already

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiduciagroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,714 - 1,720 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed 23 nights on a midweek city break with young children, all family rooms are on front with the bridge and river views. Fantastic service and quiet rooms apart from traffic. Listed building very well maintained and very clean. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Located on Quayside and a short walk from town centre, train station, metro half hour to sandy blue flag beaches.

The sash windows let traffic noise in didn't wake the kids up but may be cold in winter time.

Downsides, sash windows near young children without proper safety stops on a worry for little fingers getting trapped, would suggest secondary double glazing due to listed building status. Smallest 'floor bed was rock hard like sleeping on board. Some lights were not working and hair dryer went glowing red and smell of burning inside.

We were asked to check out before noon, train was at 1pm but at 10.50pm we were telephoned by reception to ask what time we were leaving as they needed to maintain the room, first time in a Premier Lodge that's happened and I have stayed in many over the years..

The above few down points apart this is a very good place to stay and will definitely go back and stay again..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellysbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I visited this hotel after a long day,it is in need of a uplift but don't let this put you off, the staff far more make up for this.
the two rooms i had where large and airy,even if the first was a bit noisy from the bar not associated to the hotel underneath my room.(i didnt ask to be moved,just enquired when the music stopped,but the receptionist gave me a new room no problem)
If i had any tips it would be book a parking space in the underground car park (limited)
as the street parking looked a bit hit and miss.
the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0baj0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here one night with family to look over Newcastle University. Could not believe how comfortable was the room, and excellent the breakfast, for the price. Excellent location and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank MikJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

As expected. We went for value for our stag weekend and got just that.

Good security, good breakfast, good rooms, good shower and good TV signal. Was pleased overall.

Nice job.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiccoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My Fiancée and I stayed here for 2 nights while we did some sightseeing in the area.

We tried to phone the hotel the night before to see about booking a space in their car park, but got no answer. Needless to say the car park was full on arrival, however we were directed to a nearby one (1 minute walk)

The room was nice, bed very comfy but the seagulls outside the window proved to be very loud and did not seem to know the difference between night and day! I lay awake for quite some time on our first night because of these gulls. Surely an extra layer or two of double glazing would help this?

The second night our sleep was interrupted again, this time by a phone call to the room phone at 2.40am, by someone who seemed to be drunk, asking for room service.

On telling the receptionist this in the morning, and pointing out that they do have a 'goodnight guarantee' we were refunded for that night with an apology.

The hotel has a great location (apart from being so near Seagull headquarters!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe_bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Just returned from a terrific stag weekend in Newcastle and we stayed two nights in the Premier Inn at the Quayside. The location of this very reasnobly priced hotel is simply excellent. Right underneath the Tyne Bridge with views onto the river. Everything as you would expect from a Premier Inn, albeit in an older building. No-one in our party had any complaints about rooms (though we weren't really in them that long!). Both the keycards for my room kept needing re-programming, which was a pain as we were in 502, right at the top of the building....not so great at three in the morning.

Staff were fabulous, and a special mention to Roxanne and Kathy who looked after us all. We still don't believe that the trick with the orange and the pound coin can be done!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappuchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#37 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up Newcastle's rich shipping history in the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle Quayside. With stunning views over the River Tyne, this Grade 2 listed building is perfectly positioned for exploring the city. Get a taste of Newcastle's most popular eateries and buzzing nightlife. Tune into cultural events or attend a conference at the iconic Sage Music Centre. Watch the beautiful game at St James Park or the Stadium of Light in neighbouring Sunderland. Or join the runners at the starting line for the Great North Run. Then head back to our tasty restaurant before sinking into our extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing