We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kittiwakes didn't bother us !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kittiwakes didn't bother us !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed for one night midweek. We had 2 twin rooms and asked for rooms overlooking the river. One room was quite small with a small window and the other was much larger with a great view over the Tyne. I must be the only person who likes the plaintiff cry of the kittiwake and they certainly did not keep me awake, although the window was open. I agree with a previous reviewer that I don't see the need for the opening restriction on the windows. Each room only had one hand towel for 2 people which is apparently company policy - don't understand that one either ! However the bed was very comfy and the room very clean. The bathroom was a bit dated but again it was clean. The staff were great and they even put a bottle of fizz and a balloon in the room for my friend who was celebrating her 70th birthday. This was a very nice touch. Breakfast was great, most things on there that you could need,and poached eggs made to order were very good. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJane05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    552
    267
    86
    42
See reviews for
323
547
72
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a conveniently located hotel. Average property that is probably ready for refurbishment. Friendly staff. Okay breakfast though I have had better in other Premier Inn's. Having said this it did the job - clean, comfortable enough and reasonably priced. We did stay sunday and monday nights - so not weekend - and had a room away from the seagulls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

great location, very handy for pubs/restaurants in the city centre. Very comfortable beds & very friendly staff. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice. The underground car park is a little bit tight but ok. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a weekend break in the city.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABaxter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hi this hotel try's it's best! Mid week visit on business. Clean room, semi friendly reception but no chance of any sleep due to the seagulls screeching all night long. What a shame and I understand that birds can not be helped but the noise is relentless and the mess outside is terrible. Its also very smelly outside. take an umbrella as I saw 3 people get messed on whilst I was there. Bar staff very friendly, meal deal fabulous value but leave time to be served as they are a little slow. Overall ok if your going for a night out but not if you have an early morning meeting to attend the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for room as far away from the reception as possible as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurac0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a fabulous 3 night stay at this hotel. Everywhere was spotless, nothing too much trouble for the staff, food excellent. Would definitely recommend. Excellent value for money. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel was good, clean, staff friendly and great location. I felt that the price was a little high and was a bit annoyed as rooms have 3 full sized beds but only allowed 2 adults max in each room, we had a party size of 7 so needed 4 rooms when 3 could have easily have accommodated us and would have made the stay over £100 cheaper



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

To start with the parking extra of £7 per night was NOT advertised on the website, the parking spaces are very small to say the least. Reception staff were friendly and check in was ok, could have been quicker, only one staff member on and three people in front of me. Hotel lay out is also a bit weird, had to walk right through the hotel to get to the smallest elevator I have ever seen. The room itself was Ok, could have been better. The worst aspects of the stay were the very loud seagulls, even though I had previously been warned and asked for a room away from the squawking. The room was very warm and the window have restricted opening, which I don't understand even for safety reasons its ridiculous.

Overall wouldnt rate it for value for money and wont be staying here again. although better than the "city Centre" run down hole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_d85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing