We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here with 7 Friends for my Hen Weekend. The receptionist who greeted us was really friendly explained everything fully and as we arrived early let us drop our bags off so we wouldn't have to lug them around. They have a lot of stags and hens staying here so prob not the best place to stay for a quiet weekend I personally wasn't disturbed but my friends got woke up middle of the night by a stag party banging on the door that had the wrong floor but to be honest we expected this as we wasn't exactly quiet ourselves. The bar reflects this to full of loud friendly people which I loved but if you on a quiet weekend may not be ideal. Had a lovely view of the Tyne Bridge from our room and there plenty of little pubs close by as well as it only being a 10 min walk from town.

Great little cafe down the road for breakfast and a great little market on a Sunday morning on side of the river would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    552
    267
    86
    42
See reviews for
323
547
72
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for a weekend - very convenient for The Sage and the city centre. It's a bog-standard, functional premier inn, with the same feel as my uni halls. In common with all premier inns I have ever stayed in, there is a lingering smell of old socks in the toilet. But given the price (£70 for double, 2 nights) I could live with it. The bed was very comfortable though, and the breakfast surprisingly good (not included in price). As it's by the quayside, you will probably hear the seagulls. Some members of my party found it too noisy to sleep but I thought it was fine. Be warned that many hen and stag do people stay here, so it might be noisy because of that.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the quayside as the gulls can be loud. Lift is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank israphale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

we have stayed at a few premier inns and always found them good value for money and my husband loves the breakfasts
there was good communication from the hotel as they emailed me twice and phoned me once to advise there was work going on and breakfast was going to finish a little earlier than normal. they also recommended we book a parking space for £7 for our stay which we did. they were kind enough to let us leave the car there after we had checked out for a few hours
the staff were very friendly especially Laura
the room was a little tired, small things like the back missing off the remote and a kettle stand with no kettle but another kettle on another shelf!, not major things but things that could easily be sorted
as usual the breakfast was lovely and the location was great
i would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoebedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I live near to Newcastle and was going to the theatre royal to see a show and decided to stay a couple of nights as I've never visited Newcastle as a 'tourist'. I picked this hotel because of its ideal location for some of the citys best visitor attractions and Quayside bars, restaurants etc, it sits literally in the shadow of the Tyne Bridge.
On arrival and entering our room the first impression is that the hotel is 'tired' and could do with a face lift, I made a mistake by asking for a river view. The room was spacious but lacked any character, the bed was definitely not comfortable and the curtains didn't block out the early morning sun. The biggest problem however was the traffic noise from outside, starts at 06-30 and continues all morning, towels are of a poor quality and the hotel only supplied one set for a double room ( I think company policy?).
The staff were very understanding and if your looking for a 'budget' hotel in a good position then this hotel should fit the bill, unfortunately not for us.

Room Tip: Don't get a river view on the front and book into the underground car park if visiting with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We checked in for one night, me and my partner, and for a Friday night, it was fairly busy. The receptionist explained everything necessary for our stay, and the bartender served us quickly whilst we had a quick pint before dropping our luggage off. The rooms have easy access with the aid of a card key, and there's no loud noise audible from any of the other rooms, due to how well insulated and quiet they actually are. The bed was very comfy, so no need to complain about that. There could have been more Tea and coffee supplies, however this was a minor inconvenience. The room was extremely tidy, the bathroom was clean, and the room has a Freeview TV available. The breakfast is all you can eat for £8.25, and it's in a great location for the Quayside restaurants/pubs, and Newcastle City Centre. If you stay in this hotel, you'll have a peaceful relaxing night, and it's well worth staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

If I ever stay in Newcastle on business, this is my hotel of choice. Fantastic location for local bars and restaurants or to just watch the world go by at the Quayside. Underground parking is a must, but you'll have to ring to book as it's not an option offered on the website. Staff are amongst the friendliest around, it seems to come naturally. Great breakfast in the morning, with a good view of the Quayside. Only downside - restaurant food is poor, so eat out if you can. Still not enough to drop the rating though....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prestongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The location was great with bars and restaurants on the quayside and the city centre a 10-15 minute walk away. We were having a 'quieter' less boozy weekend away and the staff put us on the quieter floor away from large groups which was a nice consideration. The reception lady was friendly and helpful at check in.
We took advantage of the prebookable parking underneath with the car park which was great.
The room was clean and if being nit picky we thought the hotel was a bit tight on the tea and coffee but that's all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing