We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Example of a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Example of a Premier Inn”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March and we were really pleased with our choice. This is the usual Premier Inn in a modern purpose-built building and has a bit more character.

The staff are really helpful and friendly, as they are in all Premier Inns and the room we stayed in was what we expected, although the bathroom could have done with a refurb as the grout was a bit grotty. The buffet breakfast is worth paying for if you like a big breakfast to start your day - there's lots of choice and the food was really tasty.

The location is great - a short, uphill walk to the city centre and just across the river from The Sage and the Baltic.

We woke really early the next morning as our room was really cold and found that the heating had reset itself to 12 degrees. When we mentioned this at checkout, the staff looked into it and kindly refunded us the cost of the room - when they say they guarantee a good night's sleep, they really mean it!

This is a great place to stay for a short break in Newcastle and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you feel the cold, mention this to reception and they will try to put you in a warmer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad&Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    585
    292
    92
    50
See reviews for
355
590
76
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice hotel in good location with very nice staff. Room was very big but very cold. No matter what you did to the heating it wouldn't heat up much. The drawback of the location was the fact it was right above a bar with very very loud music until 1am. I did ask about it and was told they try not to use that area of the hotel for rooms. I did claim my Good Night Guarantee.

Food was ok from the standard PI menu.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to stay away from the bars outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Govan Jaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed with some trepidation as a football match on that night. No need to worry, no problems!
The check in wass very effiient and helpful. The room was very clean and as expected. Stayed in
for dinner and only just got a table. The meal was very good and the young man in charge of the restaurant was more than helpful, and the service was excellent. No noise at all and a good comfortable sleep. Breakfast was a self serve but pleanty of choice. Wouild recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked 2 nights in this excellently located hotel for the Tyne -wear Derby. There were 4 of us and we had a great weekend. Would recommend it to anyone, but beware it is used for Stag/Hen Doos but we heard nothing the 2 nights.

Excellent Value for money alos, paid £180 for 4 2 double rooms for 2 nights

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okayscoobytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy but it did have a budget price so nothing to complain about. Rooms were a wee bit drab but a good size. Breakfast is served in the adjoining bar and well worth the money. Fantastic. Best thing was the location. Perfect for all the bars and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franknsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

With a very friendly and welcoming reception team and attentive restaurant staff, this hotel is consistent with all other Premier Inns.
The hotel has been created within a historic building so it lacks some of the touches found in purpose built modern premier inns, however this is more than made up by an excellent location next to Tyne Bridge.
The metro FM arena is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk along the quayside making this hotel a superb choice for those going to this concert venue.
We booked a family room which was very comfortable, clean and warm (two electric heaters provided) and a powerful shower in the bathroom.
The breakfast area was very busy (but very well managed) with the usual excellent value for money breakfast provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river / Tyne bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europapointboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayedin this hotel a number of times its fab rooms nice staff great food good what more can you ask for ....its near shops restaurants pubs
. and they have a great open market just outside hotel on a sunday, great for a weekend away,xx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing