We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Bromham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just had a two night stay at the Premier Inn on the Quayside Newcastle. The hotel has friendly welcoming staff and is convenient for shopping and exploring the city on foot and does have its own small pre-bookable car park underneath the hotel. Our double room was quite small, I did need to walk sideways to get into bed and thus needless to say I missed not having a bedside table. Having said that, we only paid £54 for two nights plus £14 parking but for the money it was fine. We ate out for all our meals as we wanted to explore the city. From what we say of the restaurant it looked appealing. All said and done I think we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: I think we were in 236 I would recommend I'd there's 2 of you to ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    583
    291
    92
    49
See reviews for
350
587
76
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed there on a saturday night. good welcome. At night the place gets very noisy as the quayside are full of people going out to the local bars. The thing is that those people are also coming back at night drunk and shouting to their friends through the door that they have lost their keys or that they don't remember which floor they are on.
I called reception at about 1am to ask them to come and collect some drunk person on the floor as they were making noise. I could not be bothered to get out of bed to make a second call at 4am. The fact that the telephone is not next to the bed is making sense to me now.
At check out, was not reminded about the good night guarantee although I told the receptionist that it had been noisy. And they had my room number from my call during the night.
I really wish I had been more awake and ask for my money back as the night was not satisfactory at all.
Premier Inn Central is much better and looks cleaner too in the common areas. For the price paid, it's not worth it at all.
I wanted to be near The Sage as I was going for a show. But next time I will stay in central Newcastle as I used to.

Room Tip: don't take rooms that have windows on the streets. It's busy at night with all people going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Always used to use this hotel a couple of years ago. Stayed again last night and it reminded me why I always stayed here.

Perfect central location, secure parking, great rooms, great staff, nice bar area. Spotlessly clean with big comfy beds and big comfy pillows.

Also if you get a room at the front you can see Tyne bridge and eye of the Tyne, I really rate this hotel as excellent, I love it here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryAshwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Right in the city centre only ten min walk from station/metro. Me, my daughter, my friend and her daughter stayed here for two nights - one of them to see The Script at the Radio Arena Newcastle. We walked back to the hotel in twenty mins along the Tyne - nice walk. The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff on arrival were so helpful and let us in our room one hour early. The room was a family room and is was very big overlooking (from three windows) the Tyne, the Tyne Bridge and the Millenium Bridge. Breakfast was extremely good value £8.25 for an ALL YOU CAN EAT hot and cold buffet and the kids ate free with a paying adult. Good value breakfast, good value stay and an all round great weekend. The bar staff and waiting staff were so helpful and friendly too and made the stay one of the best weekends away.

Room Tip: The family rooms are on a corner so a good view from all windows. Third floor Room 338.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here in January with a group of friends for one their birthdays. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and our rooms were clean and spacious. It was close to all the nightlife so didn't cost much in taxis. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Knowing Newcastle quite well,I would still rate the Quayside as a good choice of area to stay even if it's not the current choice of the Young and the Beautiful. The Premier Inn on the Quayside is located almost under the Tyne Bridge,fantastic location for bars and restaurants and at best a ten minute walk to any chosen nightlife scene. Book it early for unbelievable value(£20 a night??) and don't expect it to be Malmaison or Hotel Du Vin. To those who would complain about hearing doors slam at almost midnight and finding a curly on the bathroom floor,I would suggest earplugs and a Brazilian.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratherbeingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week. Overall experience was good. Staffs were approachable and helpful. Ensuite standard room is really spacious for 2 people. Color TV, Tea/coffee/Milk/Sugar Sachets, electric kettle, hair dryer. Internal telephone etc were there in the room . Good quality bedding were found. Rooms were well maintained and regular cleaning were done.

This property is located close to Quayside. The Millennium bridge and Sage is just a walk away. There are many good pubs and restaurants around. Must say, an Ideal location to explore Newcastle City.You have frequent bus access as well as Newcastle Central Station is nearby.

I would highly recommend this property

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing