We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good visit - would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
leeds
1 review
“Very good visit - would definitely return”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very good customer service, an excellent room with a great view, at a very reasonable rate. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will book here when next staying in Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonfurnival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    588
    292
    92
    50
See reviews for
355
591
76
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is one of the very few Premier Inns that has a secure underground car park. Breakfast is good and staff very friendly and attentive. Thanks everyone at Quayside!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Attended our sons graduation and had a great room to sleep in right on the quayside of newcastle. great walk along the front, and had lovely meal at the Hotel Du Vin . The hotel is easy to access has car parking and great value only £39 for the night but £7 for parking ontop. Close to lots of hotels restaurants and the town centre only a walk away. Also university a walk away would recommend it for short break. The pigeons were a bit noisy but I didnt mind if you think that will be a problem take ear plugs becaust the hotel is next to one of the iron bridges full of pigeons nesting at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeranger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for my hen weekend in March 2011. As I was the lead booking name I was given a large room which came in very handy for getting ready!

Checking in was ok although we had to wait about an hour for two of the rooms to be ready which was quite annoying as the time we arrived was after 2 pm which is when check-in is from.

All rooms were very clean with a double bed as well as a single in them. Premier Inn have a policy of no more than 2 adults to a room though so dont be fooled thinking you can sneak someone in if you have an odd number of people going as there is security on the door when you come back at night with a register and there is no way around them! Security (we think she starts about midnight at the weekends) is quite annoying - can understand why they have it (she has a register of guests and ticks you off as you return to the hotel at night) but when we came back on one of the nights she tried telling us we were already back when we had only just returned. She had obviously marked off the wrong room and in the early hours when your feet are hurting and you want to get to your bed the last thing we wanted was someone telling us "you're already back so I cant let you through"! In the end we showed her ID and she let us past so it was not a major issue but was a niggle we could have done without.

We all got a good nights sleep on both nights. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on this.

Location of the hotel is ok although if I were to go again would stay nearer to the Diamond Strip as that is where the nicer bars and clubs are (if that is the reason for your stay). Saying that, it is only £4/£5 each way in a taxi to there though. There are not many bars near the hotel, the ones that are are not that nice. The Italian at the back of the hotel 2 mins away, Sabatini's, is lovely though, highly recommend. Is nice to walk along the river-front.

Car parking is chargeable per day but is in a safe underground basement just by the entrance to the hotel.

Almost rated this a 3 because of the niggles we had but the size and cleanliness of the rooms is worth a 4.
Overall, a good stay in a clean and modern hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room; they are not all a standard size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PricklyHeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

as always premier inn at its best great staff nothing too much, rooms a little hot due to weather barr that a great stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinrachelellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norderstedt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed there on a cycle trip through Northern England and was pretty astonished that the Hotel was prepared to accomodate cycliste, it means I had a safe place for the bicycle.
The room was nice and tidy, the location down by the river is great and the staff was very very nice and helpful.
I'd stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Had an excellent nights stay and would definately stay here again, we are sorry we didnt stay for 2 nights.
Staff couldnt do enough for us, even opening the doors at 2am so we could use the stairs to our room as one of our friends has a phobia of lifts!
Car parking facilities excellent as you can access it through the hotel without going outside.
Only downside is the drinks were expensive, but plenty of bars around to go get a drink at reasonable prices.
Would definately recommend, and will be going back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsDebs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing