We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as usual - Kevin & Karen Phillips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great as usual - Kevin & Karen Phillips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for a week to visit family. Room spotless, excellent service from all. Cleaning staff worked hard with the usual great assistance from Maureen. Airport was busy in the early hours with planes flying right over, but no fault of the hotel. See you again at Christmas.

Room Tip: Best upstairs, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one and Maureen and the team will be pleased to receive your feedback, as our team members strive to give all our guests a high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    134
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
219
153
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night before heading north into Scotland. First point I noticed was that the hotel seemed quite advanced compared with other Premiers.
Cards instead of keys, however you have to remember to place the card in the slot next to the door otherwise the electricity doesn't work (bit of a problem if you leave something on charge whilst you are out).
Large LED television mounted on the wall, however being a bit too close to the wall made it hard to plug my external hard drive into it to watch movies from it!
Mirror had a number of lights built into it.
Bed was comfortable, had a good night's sleep, and despite the terrible weather, we didn't get wet walking to the Beefeater next door for food!

Room Tip: You should have a large LED tv in your room, if not ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay for three nights. The staff at reception was very helpful and very chatty as well. The room was clean and cool with good night sleep. The journey to Morpeth and others was very easy in car. We shall come back again in future

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Couldn't fault the staff - they were friendly and very helpful but there is not a hope in hell that I will stay here EVER again. Room was unbearably hot in the recent heatwave, as there was no air con. The hotel is situated directly underneath Newcastle flight path. I could virtually wave at passengers, the planes came THAT close!
The windows only open about three inches and it's a toss up whether to have a slight waft of cool air and be woken every five minutes by plane noise, or melt into a pool of disgruntled customer, never to be seen again. I opted to strip the bed of its sheets and 'sleep' on the chaise near the window to try and get some relief from the overbearing heat. Not much was forthcoming and the noise was horrendous! I managed about an hour and a half of sleep before making an important presentation the next morning. Not impressed!
It is not a buffet breakfast and I didn't have time to wait for an order to be taken (they are a tad slow in the restaurant), so made do with fruit and a cuppa.
The receptionist was lovely and when I responded honestly to her question about whether I had enjoyed my stay, she was most apologetic. This poor review is not the fault of staff. Management need to install air conditioning and much better double glazing to keep out plane noise and maintain a temperature that it is possible for a human being to sleep in! The one saving grace is that I received an email from the person who booked the room for me, saying that Premier were refunding the money. That was impressive, because at no point did I ask for a refund.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper. Directly under flight path and unbearably hot in war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

polite welcome on arrival and a clean modern room but very hot at 28 degrees , tried to alter the temp but then realised this was not possible anyway we thought it would cool down later . bedtime still 28 put the fan on thought i would sleep with just the top sheet but there wasnt one ? and couldnt open the window due to a very busy roundabout and that it is situated on the flight path.The bed was rock hard not at all like the literature describes "sink into our comfortable beds "and the bed was so creaky well i slept at 1am and was awake at 4.45 and that was it !! as we had booked for 2 nights i would have liked our money back and we could have booked in elsewhere but it appears the no quibble guarantee is not accurate.The receptionist asked why i had not gone to report this at 4.45am ( could they have amended the situation then ) i would have if there had been a phone in the room .she agreed it was hot but said that some of the other premiers are hotter!! the bedroom staff were then involved and said an extra quilt would be put on the mattress and an extra fan given and also it should be cooler as there would be less people staying.i was also informed that i should nt expect to sleep as well in a hotel as i do at home.......good nights sleep guarantee ???....well by this point the receptionist agreed to refund one night. a very thin quilt was put under the mattress the extra fan was not brought and it was still 27.5 degrees i did get some sleep probably as i was so shattered from the previous night. I was glad to leave and we continued our stay in the north east in a comfortable hotel. my first and last visit to a premier inn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beware understaffed in restaurant for breakfast, although staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good but very poor service. Hotel very clean and looked after. Car parking limited and floods very easily. Poor ventilation in rooms in warm weather and poor storage of clothes in rooms.Location of hotel good for access to amenities, but very close to the airport flight path.



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

as usual cant fault hotel but why cant they do something about the pub come res next door its a beefeater but they cant cook steak the serving staff slow uncareing and downrite rude they never ask if you req anything else and cant be botherd..the only one that seems to care is a turkish chap hes the only one with anything about him .breakfast staff are good careing and efficent so why just res staff at night.air con on cold all the time drafty noisy and as for the piped music at breakfast who wants or needs it over all a not very good pub

Room Tip: great hotel.eat somewhere else overall res is rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalosLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Address: Moor Farm Roundabout | Annitsford, Newcastle upon Tyne NE23 7QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well placed for Whitley Bay and a short broomstick ride from Alnwick Castle, aka Hogwarts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing