We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly - but do not walk too much the creaking is mad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryton Country House
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is in a nice quite area and not much noise heard outside. The room was adequate for my needs and they shower/bath worked fine. Plenty of towels and dressing gowns available. The TV in the room is small and if on the bed, it is hard to see.

The breakfast was really good with some of the best bacon/mushrooms I have tasted, and the staff are really helpful.

the WiFi speeds were good when it worked. It kept dropping connection, but this was a minor inconvenience.

My main gripe is the flooring, everywhere you walked in the room the floor creaked, this was in the room and in the bathroom. I think the flooring definitely needs looking at.

Apart from that, a lovely quite and secluded hotel where I would stay again.

Room Tip: I was in room 2 - and this floor creaked too much - do not know what the other rooms were like,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

When the receptionist finally appeared (after another customer used his mobile phone to ring the hotel, given there was no response to the bell) she was very friendly, and all the staff we met were local and friendly. Our room was a good size, but had seen better days, there was a damp patch on the wall and ceiling, and the bathroom was looking very tired. The beds were comfortable and the linen was good.
We ate in the bar - same menu as the restaurant, which was worryingly long and looked like a typical pub menu from 1990. We both chose from the specials on the grounds that they were least likely to be made from frozen. Food was edible but nothing special, but OK value for money.
The next morning at breakfast it looked like only about 5 couples had stayed on a Saturday in June, and therein lies the problem. I don't think they are doing enough business to generated the money for much needed repairs and refurbishment. A shame as its a nice location, and must have been very nice once upon a time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christ0pherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I booked a night in this hotel for myself, my wife and the kids as we were visiting for a family 70th birthday. The hotel on the outside has seen better days and looks very tired. The inside was not much better. The decor is dated along with the carpets. Every floor board creaks and it feels like you are walking on a slope. The room was terrible. The heating didn't work, there was damp growing down the walls, the bathroom shower curtain was disgustingly dirty, the carpets were old and worn and the room stank of old damp. We booked a family room and what we got was a twin room with a camp bed on the floor. We paid £95 for B&B, it was only worth half that. Breakfast was a distaster. We waited 20 minutes for coffee that was already made but were not allowed to get ourselves, the cooked food was average but the toast they served us was MOULDY

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just spent two nights at this lovely hotel as my hubby and I were attending a wedding nearby. I disagree with the comment below as we were in room 12 and we found the room to be of adequate size (could easily walk around the bed, which was extremely comfy and had lovely squishy pillows), the en suite was small but it was clean and to me that's what matters. The staff are fantastic, all happy to chat and really friendly, gave the hotel a lovely feel. As they knew we had been at a wedding on the Saturday they even let us check out later (at no charge) which was greatly appreciated. If we are ever in the region again, we would definitely stay!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YorkieMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Used the Country Club for a visit to family in the village as I used to live in Ryton over 30 years ago, sadly the hotel looks very much the same and is in need of updating, saying this we just stopped for bed and breakfast and for £69 for a double room it was good value for money with a very small but clean room and a very nice breakfast bar the rubbery sausages.Will be interesting to see what becomes of the Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Had room 12 which is a very small room with very small en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We only stayed for the one night as a couple. Upon arrival we noticed that the hotel was very clean and not at all pretentious and old fashioned in a quaint kind of way. At times the decor looked a little tired, a beautiful stained glass window at the stair head was very dirty for example and the corridors looked like they could do with a lick of paint. But our room was very very comfortable and clean and had everything in it that we could want: en suite with a shower, tea and coffee sets, hairdryer...we were very impressed at this point, though a lot of the things in the bedroom were old fashioned too. We agreed it was a solid 9/10 so far.

However, we went down for dinner in the restaurant and we were disappointed. We were seated in a beautiful room which looked like a michelin star restuarant and would be great for weddings. The ceiling was damp in places with the paper peeling but that could be easily overlooked. What was unsettling however was that in this huge restaurant and adjoining bar, there was only us and two other men who left shortly afterwards. Bearing in mind the bar and restaurant are open to non guests too, we wondered why this was and how they could afford to keep two waitresses and a chef in. We were told that only us and the two men were staying in the hotel at this time. We put it down to it just being a Tuesday night and ordered the homemade vegetable soup to start. It certainly didn't seem home-made at all, it looked like it had come out of a tin and tasted processed and very salty. Slightly disappointed, we ordered main courses. My vegetable tart had most definitely been microwaved and the side order of vegetables was watery and bland. We wondered if the reason that the plates were so hot was because they had just come from a microwave. My partners beef was so tough it couldn't be cut and was grey on its underside, he said it tasted old. We left parts of our main course. By the time it came to ordering desert, we were actually considering what our "safe" options were because we didn't want to be disappointed. My fudge cake was okay but it didn't have the best taste, and my partner found his ice cream to be okay. It was certanly the best part of the meal. In the whole time we ate, we remained the only people in the restaurant! We were disappointed after having read wonderful reviews about the food on trip advisor. We understand that it would be difficult to prepare homemade food for only 4 guests but the food we ate was not of a great quality, and the price which we initially thought was cheap (£11.90 each for 3 courses) was unreasonable.

We were then told that a night porter wouldn't be on duty tonight (who can blame them with 4 people staying in the hotel) and were given our own key to take should we go out and want to return after 10pm. This was alarming, we wondered how many people might have had keys cut from this, and what was to happen if something went wrong in the night! We had a few drinks in the nearby Half Moon Inn which was lovely.

I'll take this opportunity to say that the service we received throughout our stay was wonderful, the lady who took care of us was polite and caring and made our stay a pleasure. The wifi was not that brillant though, bearing in mind there were only 2 other guests it was very slow.

The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Delicious, fresh, home cooked breakfasts, and cereal, fruit and yoghurts and juice put out especially for us though we were the only ones staying. Service was fast and the food appeared to be great quality. We could have as much as we liked as it was all included in the price.

With a bit of a spruce up of the place and perhaps some greater security, along with better evening meals I would give this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8- an automatic free upgrade to a deluxe room as the hotel had very few guests. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for years with the family and again l was not disappointed.

A party of 4, we sat in the lounge for our 3 course Sunday dinner. I had chicken gougons for starter which were beautiful, roast beef for main then followed by dimebar cheesecake, absolutely delicious and portions are very big.

We couldn't have had better service from the lovely staff. Would definitely recommend this place for proper homecookd delicious meals.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank hjnNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2 mi away
Close House Hotel
Close House Hotel
#38 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
116 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
6.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
6 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryton Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryton Country House

Address: Holburn Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne NE40 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryton Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryton Country House is set in Old Ryton Village just a short drive from Newcastle city centre and the very popular Metro Centre. Our old country house is situated in a stunning old village full of character and has great links to fantastic walks, cycle paths and many local attractions. Ryton Country House offers meals seven days a week serving from 18:00-21:00pm Monday through to Friday. Saturday Hours are from 12:00-21:00pm and Sunday roast available from 12:00-18:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryton Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing