We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and great value”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed here because it is only 10 mins walk from Metro Arena and the City cenrtre shops and very easy to find from A1 south. Staff were very helpful with directions and parking advice (Car Park next to the hotel wa full)Room was fine ,it was a very cold night and the room was not really warm despite having heating on maximum. Breakfast was good, scrambled eggs,sausages and beans . Cereals,croissants available too. We paid £55 for the night, and would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas201148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    454
    165
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
317
75
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We've stayed here a couple of times previously on weekends away in Newcastle, most recently a few weeks back.

Location is spot-on, just off the main road coming in from the A1 and an easy 10minute walk from the central area (station, Bigg Market etc). Parking is in the multi-storey next door which is now free after 5pm and very reasonable otherwise.

It may be the room choices we've selected but we've always had king-size beds which does help the sleep quality. The hotel also now has the hot breakfast buffet which is a very nice bonus.

This time round we were allocated a 1st floor room directly above the hotel entrance. We didn't mind too much in the grand scheme of things (when you're in Newcastle for a weekend, early nights and rises aren't exactly high on your list of priorities), but worthy of note if you're not in the "nightlife" brigade.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Was a bit uncertain whether to stay here due to mixed reviews - however on the whole I was pleased - especially the room rate - £70 for 2 nights through their website - great offer.

The hotel is well sited for the station just a 5 min walk - it is 10 mins to shops. It is nearer the gay village area than mainstream Bigg Market area - but all is in walking distance.

Check in etc was fine - only problem I encountered was that the heating did not work in the room - was controlled by air con unit. A maintenance chap was eventually forthcoming (reception forgot to call him first time of complaining) - and despite doing his best could not fix for heat. It did cool - very noisy and not what I was after in November. A fan heater was provided which was a good compromise.

Breakfast was OK - I don;t understand why HIE provide hot food - they do a grand continental basic selection - if you're going to do hot food should do it properly not half hearted as the current offering of "Hot Favourites" - I think most peoples favourite would be bacon - not cheap sausages and egg.

All in all - a good option for Newcastle, if price is right.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

My partner and I went to see Peter Kay at the Metro Arena (which was very good by the way) we decided to stay at at this hotel as we have stayed in many Holiday Inn's before. On arrival the staff did not seem interested on helping us and on asking where the Metro arena was they just pointed to the door and said its over there somewhere. On the way to our room we noticed stains on the carpets and when we got to our rooms there were stains on our carpets and on the bed clothes. It was dusty and the bathroom was dirty and smelt of damp. There were no complementary soaps or shampoo just a vertually empty bottle that does everything attached to the wall. After going to the concert we came back and had a drink in the bar when we could get somebody to serve us. The drinks as always are overpriced in Hotels and you expect to be ripped off so we were not too bothered about this. The real problem was the breakfast the next morning. Allthough we were quite late down (9.30am) but still well before they were closing. They had no bacon left no eggs some dreadfull beans and a few raw sausages. The coffee was vile and the bread was going stale. The waitress did eventually bring out some scrambled eggs that were so runny and undercooked we didnt bother. The fruit juice was nice and the crossiants were ok but they only had marmalde left which dodesn't really go but hey ho it filled me up for nearly 8 minutes. To top it all off when it came to paying for the bill they tried to charge us £15 extra for the room. We eventually got it sorted when the receptionist blamed another member of staff. All in all the Hotel was very poor with lazy staff and is really in need of a good clean and new carpets. It is however a great location and Newcastle is a nice City. I know it sounds like im been picky but im a great believer in you get what you pay for, this is not a cheap hotel and there are many better ones that are cheaper. My advice is avoid avoid avoid!!
CJS

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and warm, great location for trains,buses and metro, and of course shopping, all within walking distance. Stayed from 18 to 21 Nov 2010 and found everything to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed here to celebrate a birthday in Nov 2010. Hotel is all that you would expect of a Holiday Inn but the staff were really helpful, took an interest in our holiday and were only too happy to help with maps and questions.
One area i was disappointed with was housekeeping and even after I raised an issue, it was not dealt with but it was a weekend and the hotel was busy so maybe just an off moment
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Have stayed several times this year and other years, The staff are faultless, polite, attentive and willing to assist, the rooms are tidy and very good for a budget hotel, the location is great, car park next door (Chargeable) but very cheap after 5pm.
Certainly the best HIEXP i have stayed at in the UK.
Top marks to the staff and Manager.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasnutter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing