We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia, pa
1 review
“I was surprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

You wouldnt think a holiday inn express would be like this. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the hotel is located right in the middle of town. The room i stayed in was roomy, i like the bedding. I also loved that they have a bar located downstairs. I found myself chatting with fellow guest and some of the bar staff. I deff would recommend this hotel to others actually i have already...

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dranyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear Trip Adviser Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our first priority and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments regarding our bar and the attractiveness of your room are much appreciated and will be passed onto the team. I am pleased that our location in the heart of the city centre was suitable for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you visit Newcastle again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@expressnewcastle.co.uk to make any reservations.


Regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    446
    162
    52
    27
See reviews for
169
312
74
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed here before and couldn't fault it but this time breakfast was a waste of time. They had changed the times too but the information in the room was incorrect and unless you had a drink in the bar, it was easy to miss a small sign indicating that it finished an hour earlier than stated. Sausages and scrambled egg! That was it. Very disappointing but if you don't like them there are very few alternatives and loads of people were complaining.
Staff though are very helpful and friendly, just a shame they have to take the back lash of all the complaints.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for sharing your concerns during your stay. The feedback we receive from our guests’ enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
We are especially monitoring all feedback regarding the introduction of our new hot breakfast and are sorry on this occasion that we did not meet your needs; there have been only 2 products removed and replaced with the hot items and a number of different cereals due to nationwide feedback received from each hotel . Please accept my apologies that the timings in your room were incorrect this was an error and has now been corrected.
Should you wish to talk to me further regarding your stay then do not hesitate to contact me further

Sincerely
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night to go to a concert at the Metro Radio Arena. It is perfectly located to walk to the arena and anywhere around town. It is about 10 minutes from chinatown too. The rooms were clean and comfy. I initially didn't like our first room as they were painting rooms nearby and the fumes were a bit overpowering. We were moved to another floor with absolutely no fuss at all. Breakfast was a continental serve yourself set-up. Which was great.
Check in/check out was efficient and timely. There is a parking station next door to the hotel which cost us £10ish for 24 hours otherwise if you are arriving by train it is only a 10-15min walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear Trip Adviser Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our first priority and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments regarding our new breakfast offering and the cleanliness of the hotel are much appreciated and will be passed onto the team. I am pleased that our location in the heart of the city centre was suitable for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you visit Newcastle again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@expressnewcastle.co.uk to make any reservations.


Regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The staff here absolutely go out of their way to be helpful. I have previously rated a hotel on things like decor / size of room / cleanliness etc and this hotel certainly ticks all of these boxes (our room was huge, extremely comfortable and nicely decorated), but I now can't believe what a difference it makes having staff like those at the hotel.

We got free drinks on arrival (room not quite ready). Check out at 3.00pm (just because I asked and it was no problem whatsoever). Free breakfast for my relatives who weren't even staying at the hotel (they turned up to meet me after breakfast - hadn't eaten and so asked for something expecting to pay).

The breakfast was very good (they've just introduced hot food aswell - which consisted of croisants, egg and sausages).

I would absolutely recommend this - especially good if you've got children because they are so accommodating. Also there were lots of groups of guys and girls and we never heard any noise from our room at all.

Perfect location right in the city centre

I will definately stay there again

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank natalielincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

It is important to us that all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay and I am very pleased to hear your positive comments regarding our new breakfast offering and on our staff being amazing I will certainly pass them on to my team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Sincerely,

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our New Year celebrations, having been around the country and stayed in many holiday inn express, this was by far the best one yet!! Reception staff on arrival were fun and full of personality, room was clean and spacious and breakfast (even though it was just continental) was fresh and had plenty of choice, i have to give a special mention to the barman( michael???) who provided us with excellent service throughout our stay.
The only issue was that all female receptionists looked miserable and were unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikephillips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

The comfort and enjoyment of all our guests is very important to us and I am glad you had a pleasant stay in Newcastle. I am pleased our city centre location was an ideal base for your New Years Eve in Newcastle,
I am particularly happy that you thought our Hotel was the best stayed in yet and I have passed your comments on to the team manager mentioned.
We have now been re branded to a Holiday Inn Express and offer hot items with our continental breakfast
Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City should you be visiting Newcastle again in the future.

Best Regards,

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Can't fault the hotel itself , its in a good location for the city centre . The rooms are ok for the rate and other areas are clean and modern . The breafest was continental but just ok , the staff were pleasent enough . The downside was it was a Friday night and there were several stag parties in , thus at numerous times in the early hours we were woken by these pathetic idiots shouting and banging on doors . The hotel needs to think about the allocating of rooms to these types near couples or families .So my response is to give negative feedback for a spoilt weekend

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle. I was sorry to read that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards. We have reviewed our allocating of rooms procedure since receiving your comments so as to ensure everyone has an undisturbed night sleep.

If you would like to discuss your review I am contactable on the following e-mail address,
gm@expressnewcastle.co.uk
Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

very freindly staff, very nice and clean rooms, good location in the city and this is a great hotel for stag and hens party

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you found our central location within walking distant of most of Newcastle’s attractions convenient for your trip. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and I am delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and the rooms clean and tidy
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express soon.

Best Regards,

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing