We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girlie weekend at newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“girlie weekend at newcastle”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

we visited newcastle in august and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express , it was spotless, the rooms were great size and we had everything we needed. The only thing I think it could do with is stools to sit at the bar, we would have liked to have had a drink at the bar as opposed to sitting in the lounge part,. Also please for breakfast supply fried eggs as well as scrambled eggs.

A very special thanks to Derek who worked at the bar, he has a great way with customers and he was very helpfu,we only got talking to him on our last night but was great fun. Look out for him when you go to stay there and we can't forget James, he and derek are like a double act.
We will definitely be staying here again, highly recommeded .
The Hotel is just across from the Bus Station and also Newcastle University, its just a walk away from the City Centre, plenty to see and do,

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was near the busy road, tends to be a bit noisy during night but di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    462
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
322
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I use this hotel every year from Friday to Sunday to do my Christmas shopping great location most of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good rooms are basic but good loads of good places to go all within walking distance

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and into the courtyard as I found this much quieter than on to the main road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location for accessing the city centre and local attractions without a car (and a reasonably priced car park next door). The staff were friendly, the room was clean and requests for extra teabags/ towels etc were all sorted without any problem. Being so close to the city centre, there was some noise during the night as people headed home - if we stayed again, we'd probably ask for a room not overlooking the main road. Pleasantly surprised by how little noise there was inside the hotel though.

The range of cooked items at the breakfast buffet wasn't quite as impressive as at other Holiday Inn Expresses (just sausages, scrambled eggs and beans), but there was a really good selection of foods overall and it was well run (the main guy clearing tables was very helpful and friendly). We were a bit surprised some people were allowed to come down to breakfast still dressed in their nightwear though - there were a few PJs and onesies on show. It was probably made worse by the fact we generally are completely perplexed by why grown ups would want to wear babygrows anyway.... But I digress, we enjoyed our two night stay here and would be happy to return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to read you thought our hotel was noisy.

We hope you will stay with us again. If you do please ring in advance and request a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed 2 nights for a hen weekend. It's a cheap hotel, very nice staff can't complain about it. When we arrived to the hotel we had a quick check in, rooms seemed clean but plenty of dust on the bedside table, next thing is coffee and tea tray I didn't like kenco coffee would rather suggest it to change for Nescafé is much better. Bed was very comfortable can't say even a word about it, I had a very good sleep and pillows were so soft and nice. Bathroom was very clean I really liked blue lights in the bathroom, shower was so good. Plenty of room to leave your make up stuff in the bathroom and I liked it. Let's go to the point about breakfast. So I think this needs improvement not a big or good selection. I had some cheese and felt sick after but I liked a roll with butter and strawberry jam. Breakfast staff very. Friendly and chatty. One more thing is I left a list in the room for a housekeeper and asked for extra sugar ( didn't get it) big towels (got 2 small). The location is fantastic, very close to shopping centre, Newcastle stadium, china town and walking around town. Anyway I would recommend it to folks but still think needs improvement.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to read you think our hotel needs improvement. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we take feedback very seriously.

I will pass your coments on to the relevant departments and hopefully we will make some small changes in the future.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I've come to Newcastle and stayed in the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle because it's really close to the Newcastle Central Station (NCS). You can walk from there and it's 5 mins.
The hotel is very good, very clean, attendants were sympathetic and friendly.
The room was good for the price, it had Cable TV, small desk, small sofa, great bed size, central heating, shower and free Wi-Fi (pretty important if you want to talk with family, but it was unstable from time to time).
If you want to be close of train station, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here because of ease for city center
we called down to reception at 1010am to be told they don't do room service for me the ultimate let down for a city visit. Will never stay at a holiday inn again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetreehouseselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am saddened to read you would never stay at a Holiday Inn again.

Whilst Holiday Inns are a full service hotel,we at Holiday Inn Express do not provide room service of food or drink.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Well worth the money. Great place to stay. Very central to everything. Would stay here if we visit again. Staff all really friendly. Very clean room and toilet. Very comfortable beds 10/10 from us. You park in the multi story car park which is right next to the hotel and doesn't cost much for the night. Staff make u feel very welcome

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank clairef26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review.

We hope to see you soon.

Best wishes
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing