We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay Stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I came here 8 years ago as we were flying from New Castle Airport the next day. I had a good sleep there and it was only for one night. We are going back in October after a flight home from Lanzarote late at night. I would recommend if you are going for a night or a few days so you can explore New Castle but its pretty boring.

Room Tip: er i dont really know
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review.

I hope your review next time will go from "Okay stay " to great stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    458
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
176
318
75
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

If you have stayed in holiday inn express before you know what you are getting.

Stayed here on about 7-8 occasions this year most recent last month.

The hotel is unexceptional, but practical and clean.

Can get a bit noisy and as with all budget hotels there are the fair share of stag and hen do's to contend with.

What stands it aside are the staff. They remember your name, are very polite and will do anything for you. A credit to hie.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Slater956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel in Newcastle.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked a weekend stay through a third party travel company and unfortunately upon arrival there was a mix up with my booking. This was not the fault of the hotel but the reception staff could not have been more helpful!! Incredibly apologetic, giving me constant reassurance that I would get a room and going totally above and beyond the call of duty - thank you!!!

Once sorted after a few phone calls, I was allocated a 'twin' room on the 4th floor....

Three negatives to the room but these are more generalisations than deal breakers....

1) the 'twin' room consisted of a double bed (extremely comfortable) and a sofa bed (not at all comfortable!) ...not sure if there are any twin rooms which consist of two 'real beds' but would certainly ask next time

2) the air conditioning was neither use nor ornament! Despite the fact I set it for as low as it would go it never got any cooler and maintained the same room temperature which unfortunately was incredibly warm

3) the room was situated on the main road side and we were woken both mornings by traffic. I totally appreciate this is a city centre hotel and it would be impossible to not have any traffic noise but if you're a light sleeper, request a room on the side facing the square.

All this said, the rooms were spotlessly clean, ample tea/coffee, towels etc...

This hotel is in a fantastic location and has a large car park next door, which is very reasonable for city centre parking, it only cost us £8 for the entire weekend!! Plenty of eating places close at hand, and we had two of the most delicious pizza's from the hotel itself. Breakfast was good, tasty and plentiful and included in the room rate

All in all an excellent stay despite the niggles and I would stay again without hesitation.... all the staff that we encountered on reception, in housekeeping and the guys on night security are to be commended for their excellent attitude, helpfulness and friendliness

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for one situated opposite the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoofoowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

A bit delayed in submitting this but experience so positive, I've managed to make the time. Stayed here the night before the One Direction concert and hotel was packed with excited girls and mums. When checking in Andrew shared our enthusiasm and went out of his way to give us advice on transport etc. He even looked on the computer to show us where our seats were. He was so welcoming and made our stay a very positive experience.
The next morning breakfast was chaos when we arrived. Only one member of staff trying to clear up and put food out (presumably someone had called in sick). The guy struggling was lovely and also had a great smile but it was impossible for him to keep up and as a result there was no food, no cutlery etc. It wasn't his fault. I popped round the reception to see if I could drum up some help for him and the amazing Andrew as there again. When I told him the situation he immediately left reception and arrived in the restaurant like a whirlwind - got food, cutlery and plates out. It was fab to see two guys working with such pace and enthusiasm. So - thank you Andrew you really made our stay great and it's so encouraging to see someone who so evidently loves their job and considers it their responsibility to ensure we have a good stay. Anyone in the HR department should consider Andrew for any additional training and development/managment trainee type programmes as he definitely has that extra element.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonimadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

Here at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, we pride ourselves on our second to none customer seervice.

Andrew is delighted with your kind review.

We hope to see you in the near future.


Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is an amazing hotel to stay I am up northeast every two weeks and we get excellent service from all the staff especially Lee he cannot do enough to make my stay feel like I am at home
He is an ambassador for the company
And I always look forward to the next visit
Breakfast is very nice too and the staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoophoo2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Gust,

Thanks for your kind words of praise.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,065 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. We had a really early flight and I emailed the hotel in advance to see if it was possible to store our bags on arrival. They said that they would see if we could have the room earlier than the 2pm check in but they couldn't promise it. We arrived at the hotel at 9.15am and they had our room ready. Not only that but they told us to help ourselves to breakfast which was still on. We couldn't believe our luck and it was so nice to be able to have a hot drink and something to eat before unpacking in our lovely room.
The rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated, much nicer than most other budget hotels. We had a room on the road side of the hotel but it wasn't really noisy and we left the window open all the time.
The main thing that sets this hotel apart from others was the staff. Everyone was so helpful. Michael working at breakfast has the biggest smile and he was always full of chat. We also saw several of the managers giving people advice on things to see and do in the area. You don't get that kind of personal service in all hotels.
I wont stay anywhere else again in Newcastle and I'll definitely be looking at other Holiday Inn Express hotels in the future. For the price I paid, I have never had a better hotel experience.

Room Tip: They seem to put couples on the higher floors and groups on the lower ones. There were lots of grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I will pass your kind words of praise to Michael.We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express, Newcastle upon Tyne city centre, on the 15th July 2014,
on a late check inn. The Hotel was excellent, the hotel is next door to a multi storey car park, which charges £5 for the day from 8am-5pm outside these hours it is free of charge. If you are a Blue Badge holder it is completely free.

The price of the hotel included either a continental breakfast or a hot buffet breakfast. We stayed for 2 nights and it is very convenient for the city centre only a short stroll away. We had a very enjoyable stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel had a nice lounge and bar. All in all Brilliant.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Brenda J,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel in Newcastle.

We hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Warmest regards
Lee nderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing