We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for a night”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ideally located in the city centre. HIE standard rooms so you know what you are getting.
All clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
Booking in and out nice and quick. Multi-story Car Park next door.
A bit rowdy from hen and stag nights but you must expect that in these cities.

Room Tip: All rooms are much the same in Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thanks for your kind review.

We hope you will choose our hotel next time you visit Newcastle.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    462
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
322
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our first time staying in a Holiday Inn Express - and now will not be our last. We stay in all types of hotels and star ratings but mainly choose Hiltons. For us - this Holiday Inn Express was better than a Hilton hotel.

When we checked in, we were greeted with a warm welcome, quick service and a genuine man who seemed to really enjoy his job. Our request was catered for - we asked for a quiet room away from any groups/stags etc and it was dealt with. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. I found the 'soft' and 'firm' pillow choices a lovely touch too. The man on reception was also helpful at providing us with maps and places to eat, drink etc and answering in detail when we told him what we were looking for and which buses to get on.
The location is perfect for everything we needed - so central and we really enjoyed finding lots of different streets that always seemed to lead back to the hotel. The area at night was very quiet and we felt completely safe walking back to the hotel at midnight.

The free breakfast was great and really set us up for the day - sausages, eggs, pastries, cereal and unlimited cappuccinos and nice fruit juice. We enjoyed taking away a few items too in the brown bags provided. We also made use of the microwave which is provided and the pool table was an added bonus for the first night we stayed.

The hotel has a very relaxed feel and was everywhere was clean. I liked how we needed our room to key to access the lift and stairs upto rooms. This is the first time i have this in a hotel and it made me feel safe and secure.

We did feel that the older man on reception on our last day was not the friendliest or most welcoming - unlike the younger men on reception who were filled with smiles, hellos at all times.

The wifi everywhere is excellent - again something which adds to making this chain better than other 'higher' rating ones! It is such a nice touch to have wi-fi in the room at no extra cost.

The only downside was our room location. We asked for a quiet room and while we go this on the 5th floor, it was on the side facing the busy road unfortunately. It did take us a little longer to get to sleep but the hotel can't be at fault too much and it is one of those things! I am sure they are already aware of this.

Overall, we will definitely be picking this chain again and when we are back in Newcastle, this will be our go to hotel. The whole way through, i felt the staff and management really did care for its guests. All the services that were listed in the info packs in the rooms were great and made me see just how much the staff out into making this hotel a success. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJF_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent 5 star review about our hotel.

We are happy to read we are your new preffered hotel chain.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Me and my missus came to Newcastle to see Fall Out Boy in March this month. We were looking for a hotel in a nearby area which is also clise to the city centre. We looked here (on tripadvisor) and the reviews had us sold. When booking the hotel the price for this fantastic location and perfect for our needs cost us next to nothing!
The only problem is the parking, unfortunitly you have to pay for parking in the nearby multistorey carpark (if you can find a place) however it was reasonably priced. The hotel itself is clean, great staff and good facilities. The hotel room was clean, large and cleverly designed. Comfy bed, choice between soft and firm pillows, sofa bed (not that it was needed but still comfortable to sit on) television and hanging facilities.
I did have to contact them to change my booking but they were quick to reply and amend my booking waver.
Breakfast was also free... Not sure if it was just a one off but it definitly went down a storm after a few bevvies the night before
Thank you very much Holiday Inn, I have already recommended you and hope to be staying in another one in the near future :)

Excellent

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for 1 night. Check in was not very friendly and one man doing the check ins and the bar at same time. After filling in my form with name and address and getting my key card he left my details on top of reception to go and serve someone.

Data protection ? I hesitated and went to take the form but left it. Wished I had but I complained later. The room was ok but the loo smelt of urine and on inspection was not clean at all! I did not look too closely obviously but not a pleasant odour. Coupled with the roadworks near by I found it hard to find the parking as well and reception centrally were no use in helping me .

Would not stay here again when I am back in the North East.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very disappointed to read about your problems during your stay.

If you can please could you contact our hotel and give me some more details on your reservation.

We take cleanliness very seriously here at Holiday inn express and it is very sad to see we did no meet our promise this time.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family including 2 children aged 7 and 2. From the moment we checked in the staff were so friendly, Michael and Kimberley were so friendly and efficient. They gave us colouring pens and a game for kids as we arrived early before room ready. Then throughout the stay another Michael was really friendly and efficient at breakfast as a waiter. Staff gave us suggestions for local restaurants, advice on museums around the area. Brilliant short break in newcastle! Staff should be praised for making the hotel stay part of a great couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review.

Kimberly and Michael will be thrilled to see thier name on Tripadvisor.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while work was being done on our house. Staff were pleasant, the room was basic but clean. Nice central location so we could get around town easily. Free breakfast was fine: basic with croissants, yogurt, cereal, etc and a limited hot choice of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs.
For the price we were more than happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

It's very pleasing to read you had a pleasant stay.

We hope you will stay with us again when you next visit the city.

Kindest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

+: location: safe/ walking distance from station; friendly staff; quiet, in spite of best efforts of guests on hen/ stag parties; grab and go breakfast
-: limited breakfast options (bacon? Guests have mentioned this previously & other Holiday inns manage it); attention to lime scale accumulation in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnutMinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for your recent kind review.

Unfortunately due to the express brand standard we are unable to provide bacon at this moment in time however we do offer a large selection of other breakfast items.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,098 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing